Educators should teach facts only after their students have studied the ideas, trends, and concepts that help explain those facts.

Facts, applications, effects and the underlying theory, reasoning, explanations, concepts are both important factors to learning any new phenomena or idea in the world. Each one is incomplete without the other for a complete appreciation. Usually, facts, effects, applications can be related to the world very easily, but on the other hand, the underlying ideas and explanations are often abstract and not so relatable.

If the concept underlying any idea is learnt, then facts can be appreciated better. A better comprehension of the overall matter can be achieved. It can lead to deeper understanding of the subject matter and spur an interest in students regarding it. It reveals to the students the importance of abstraction, how a seemingly abstract theory is used to explain some fact in the real world.

Consider for example the phenomenon of gravity. If students are made to understand the theory underlying forces and motion and the relation between them before introducing what exactly is gravity, they can appreciate the phenomenon better and understand the effects of gravity applied to planetary motion, orbits of planets etc. If only the facts like if any object is allowed to fall freely, it will fall with acceleration of 'g', are introduced, it is easily possible for the students to think that gravity is something related to the Earth alone. This indicates that studying ideas before facts explained by those ideas leads to a broader perspective and an all-round thinking approach, which is necessary for progress in any pursuit in any field of work.

However, sometimes concrete explanations behind actual facts are simply not known with certainty, for example in biology we all know the different forms of life, but no one has concrete explantion of the process of origin of life. At such times, it is simply not possible to present ideas, explanations before facts, and facts have to be stated first. Also, the ideas explaining several facts can be very complicated and hard to understand, and not very interesting at the first sight. So, to keep students motivated regarding learning of a particular idea, all the facts and real-world manifestations of an idea have to be presented to them, to capture their interest to learn the subject. Take the example of global warming. If one starts to talk about the complex chemical processes and geographical reasons which underlie global warming, students are very likely to not listen to you, as they are not able to relate the discussion to the real world. To get them interested, educators must present before students all the facts and the very real consequences of global warming, to get their attention regarding the subject matter. After that, there is a higher chance of students remaining interested in the topic, to find out the mechanism that gives rise to global warming, satisfying their curiosity. Consider the example of teaching electrostatics and electrodynamics to students. This is a topic which is full of complicated mathematics and reasoning. So, it is necessary to start with presenting the facts and uses of the ideas, in AC/DC motors used in fans, generators which power our house during a power cut, Maglev trains etc. which attracts the attention of students and ignites curiosity within them, owing to which they can understand the subject.

Thus, both methods of teaching have their benefits as well as shortcomings and no one method is "the best" out of the two. The use of the method really depends upon the subject matter complexity as well as the maturity of the students, and thus has to be handled on a case-by-case basis driven by advantages and disadvantages mentioned above for each method.