A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

School education is a very important phase for every child, as it is the medium through which it formally learns about the world. A certain basic knowledge of major subjects such as maths, science, social sciences, languages and literature, arts is very essential for the all round development of an individual. However, if from a young age, a child is particularly interested in a particular subject and not towards the others, he should have the some freedom of choosing subjects to avoid burden of subjects he does not like.

One of the goals of education is to create well rounded individuals, who are independent thinkers, have a sound perception of the world around them. To this end, subjects like all basic subjects like history, languages, science, mathematics have a crucial role to play. History teaches us what mistakes our ancestors did, as well as brings to our notice some of the revolutionary ideas, due to which life is what it is today. This knowledge is crucial, as it makes us familiar with how the world works, and to be cautious by not making the same mistakes our ancestors did. Science teaches us how to inquire about the world, and how to try and understand the laws of the world in which we live. Mathematics is the language of science, and so important. Languages helps us communicate with one another, which is an important part of living in a society. Literature and arts lets us explore our creative thinking. Thus all of the above subjects teach us an invaluable life skill, which is why each one is important, and thus spell out the need for a common curriculum till college.

However, some students have a proclivity towards a particular subject from a very early age, and to them, studying all other subjects seems like an unbearable burden. There are some students who are in love with mathematics, but hate languages, and have a tough time with languages. There are others who are in love with the arts, for whom mathematics seems like an evil subject. If a common curriculum is enforced, such students, who could be mathematicians and artists of tomorrow, can literally fail in school and in general this can have a deadly impact on their careers, and can lead to them not pursuing that subject, due to the others. So, a common curriculum actually proves to be a hindrance to such students, who have to rote their way out of these subjects.

Thus, a solution would be not to keep a fixed and rigid curriculum, rather allow for some amount of increasing flexibility in it, with growing flexibility with the higher standards. This will ensure that whoever wants to specialize in a subject are free to do so, and if one lacks any special interest in any subject, can cover a breadth of them. This would in some extent reduce the problems of majority of the students, but leads to giving freedom to the child, which he may not know how to exercise.