The fact that technology is outpacing the needs of those in cultures that can afford the technology creates cultures of excess consumerism.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. Indeveloping and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Now-a-days, rate at which technology is growing is enormous, and people who can afford have to started to adopt it and tasks like buying anything, transport, making food, calling are being made easier by technology startups like Amazon, Uber, Zomato, and by smartphones and TV companies. Considerable amount of the population makes use of these services increasingly out of proportion with regards to their needs. Also, there are few those who use these services in moderation, when needed, and otherwise are not dependent on them.

Previously, when I was a kid, we had only 1 phone in our house, and today, everyone including the 5 year old kid in the house has a phone in his hands, which is clearly indicative of highly spread consumerism due to fast evolving smartphone technology, as certainly a 5 year old kid does not need a smartphone, and is definitely a luxury item. Also, few years back, everyone had normal phones for a long duration, but today, everyone owns a smartphone, which change with a very high frequency, clearly indicating that a need that was not there previously got created due to the introduction of fast-paced technological changes. This is not to say that the smartphone technology is bad, but that attitude of people has become more towards consumerism due to it.

Consider another example, pertaining to online delivery services like Amazon and Zomato. I see many students ordering things that they would not have bought by actually going to a shop, and thus things without which they can do just fine, but nevertheless they buy, as it is super easy to buy things and get it delivered to your doorstep. Similar thing goes with food, as some families prefer to order food to their doorstep, which is easier than cooking it themselves. Essentially, these services offer an easy alternative to existing tasks like buying things, and making food, thus causing users to consume more.

These things, however, depend completely on the individual, as there is a sizeable population that can afford these services, but still prefers to stick to their ways, only seeking them when absolutely required. I personally know well-off businessmen, who live a simple life, and only use technology to address their needs, not as an easy alternative. I think that this mostly depends on the attitude of a person. If a person is of a lazy disposition, he will try to substitute tasks requiring effort with easier alternatives, while a frugal person will only use services when needed and not more.

In conclusion, I think that due to technology outpacing needs of people, for those who can afford it, it is becoming all too easy to increase their "needs", but the few people who can make a sound distinction between actual needs and luxury items continue to lead the same life as before.