Competition for high grades seriously limits the quality of learning at all levels of education.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

In any learning environment, there should be some motivation for students to study and learn, otherwise hardly any student other than the intrinsically motivated ones will learn a subject. Grades are a way to introduce competition into the learning environment, be it school, high school, college. Another use of grades are to ensure availability of a performance metric to roughly assess how well a student is being able to learn any subject matter. This is important to track the progress of a student, and take corrective actions if stuent is struggling with a subject. In this way, grades and a healthy competition associated with it is important, as it motivates the student to study and put in more effort from his side into learning. To illustrate the importance of competition and grades, consider the example of some of the schools in my locality, which have effectively put an end to the grading system till high school. Some of my younger friends who have passed out from there and now studying in high school are facing difficulties as, earlier the level of effort put in by them in school had plummeted due to absence of any grades, and thus any competition too, making it difficult for them to adjust.

However, there is an other side to this story, which shows what happens when competition and grades are considered the main focus, and learning takes the back seat. From school, the only thing that is important as considered by parents and thus also by children are grades. No one even cares about how well a child has understood a particular subject, or has interest in it. The only metric used to decide whether a child has understood a subject or not are grades. This type of too much stress laid on grades, and the associated competition with it takes the essence and fun out of learning. Stduents take to bad methods of learning such as rote learning without understanding anything, which can prove very dangerous to their careers, at the least, unless changed at the earliest. School, which is a place to awaken children's curiosity, becomes a stressful and arduous journey to attain as good grades as possible, to outshine someone else and get as high as possible a rank in the class.

If a child's studies only for the sake of grades from school, which is what is being motivated from all sides, first of all, his curiosity in any subject will take a hit, and school will become a very stressful and dry journey. Also, he would not be able to let his natural interest take shape, and thus leave him at a loss when the time comes for deciding a field for a career. Thus, a child will only get grades and hatred for subjects from such an extreme competition and emphasis laid on grades, and the primary motive of learning will be successfully beaten.

The solution for how to maintain grades and competition in the system, without making the system over-competitive lies in the attitudes of the children, parents and teachers, supporting a healthy competition, but laying sufficient stress on importance of learning instead of over-emphasis on good grades.