The following appeared in the summary of a study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia.

"Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, for the past several decades, food-processing companies have also been adding salicylates to foods as preservatives. This rise in the commercial use of salicylates has been found to correlate with a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by participants in our twenty-year study. Recently, food-processing companies have found that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods. With this new use for salicylates, we can expect a continued steady decline in the number of headaches suffered by the average citizen of Mentia."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The given argument makes several assumptions, and does several leaps of inference using those assumptions, which are not stated in the argument. The first unstated assumption is that all chemical compounds belonging to the salicylate family show similar chemical properties to aspirin. This need not be true, as slightest of change in chemical compounds leads to a drastic change in all of their properties, whether physical or chemical. For example, ethanol which is present in alcohol, can be consumed, while methanol, a member of the same alcohol family is very poisonous, and can lead to severe effects if consumed, which can be fatal as well.

The argument states having done a study related to number of headaches and proportion of the salicylates that is present in foods, but no details regarding the study are presented as evidence in the argument. The number of participants is unknown, which can be a problem, as if the count is low, the conclusions drawn from the study would not be as powerful, as compared to those from a higher number of participants. Also, there are no details regarding the people who are a part of the study, age group, health conditions, area in which they live and many more details, which are required to ensure that less bias is present in the experiments, which in turn makes the conclusions robust. Also, there are no details regarding evidence of how the participants reported that they had a headache, whether the response was quantified or not. All of these reasons make the fact evident that the experiments need more evidence and details.

Even if the results of the experiment are considered valid, the argument makes a leap by esatblishing a cause effect relationship from the observed correlation in the experiments. This cannot be inferred as correlation does not imply causation. There can be a number of other factors that could have contributed to the reduction in the reporting of headache rates, like exercise, or observance of a better and a moderately paced lifestyle, instead of a fast one, which can produce stress and ths headache. Furthermore, the salicylates that will be used in flavor additives in foods may not the same as those used as preservatives. So, the conclusion that the same effect of reduction of headache will be observed can not be guaranteed. The argument also assumes that the results of experiments done on select individuals will generalize to a far larger sample size with a possibly different composition of people.

Thus, the argument depends on a lot of unstated assumptions with a low amount of evidence provided, in terms of generalizing about the properties of chemical compunds, providing incomplete details regarding experiments, and generalizing the results of the experiments. Failure of any of the assumptions would undermine the argument seriously, and thus the reduction in headaches may not be observed.