The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of Quiot Manufacturing.

"During the past year, Quiot Manufacturing had 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than at the nearby Panoply Industries plant, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts say that significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents are fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers. Therefore, to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents at Quiot and thereby increase productivity, we should shorten each of our three work shifts by one hour so that employees will get adequate amounts of sleep."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The above argument makes a lot of assumptions for taking the available information into action. First of all, the comparison made between the two companies assumes without stating that both are working in the same field, and have the same set of machinery and jobs involved, and so the risk of the on-the-job accidents can be compared. This need not be the case, as risk involved in both jobs of workers in both companies may be different, like one can be related to nuclear energy and other can be a food product manufacturing company, making risk factors on the job quite different and thus making the comparison invalid.

The exact reasons for each and every accident on the job are either not known or not provided as evidence for the argument. So, it may be the case that there might be some defect in the machines that the workers are using, which is leading to more on-the-job accidents. The point is that without any data regarding the nature and causes of the accidents, it is not right to infer that more accidents are being caused due to lack of sleep or fatigue of workers. The argument quotes experts' opinion regarding this matter, but it does not mention how applicable this opinion is for the domain of work of the company. More evidence regarding the validity of this statement needs to be providedin order to derive any inferences using it.

A major component concerning on-the-job accidents is the skill level of the workers working in the company. If workers are not skilled enough in the operation of the machinery in the factory, then the number of accidents is likely to be high. For a skilled worker set, this number will be definitely low. The company does not provide any details regarding complexity of operating the machines, and the experience of the employees in operating the appropriate machinery. If an analysis of the workers' experience reveals that considerable amount of workers are not qualified enough to operate the machinery, then the company needs to invest in either training the existing workers, or hiring new ones, with suitable experience. Thus, if the company goes ahead without taking this factor into consideration, they might not see the expected result.

Regarding reduction in the work hours of workers, it might not be necessary for all shifts, as it is not known whether there is a pattern in the shift in which particularly more accidents happen or not. Suppose, if the number of accidents in night shift is greater than in any other shift, it might be possible that the nature of work is not suitable to be done in the night, requiring greater worker concentration, which might be at reduced levels in the night. There is no evidence used, giving details regarding the shift in which accidents happen, thus making the solution a leap of inference without sufficient evidence.

Thus, to conclude, there are a lot of factors like domain of the company, worker skill level, equipment quality, time patterns if any in the accidents, to be considered in greater depth, before any step can be taken to try and reduce the accidents. The argument critically rests on these factors, but fails to acknowledge and address any of the above issues, and thus the solution proposed is prone to failure, given any of the mentioned factors plays a major role.