The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of Quiot Manufacturing.

"During the past year, Quiot Manufacturing had 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than at the nearby Panoply Industries plant, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts say that significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents are fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers. Therefore, to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents at Quiot and thereby increase productivity, we should shorten each of our three work shifts by one hour so that employees will get adequate amounts of sleep."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In a memo, it is stated that the number of on-the-job accidents at Quiot can be minimized by reducing the working hour of the job by one hour. Although at first glance, the author's recommendation apprears to be somewhat convincing, but further reflection reveals that it is based on three unwarranted assumptions.

During the past year, Quiot Manufacturing had 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than at the near by Panoply Industries plant.The author assume that on-the-job accidents at Quiot are comparable to on-the-job accidents at Panoply.However, the definition of on-the-job accidents may be different at different firms.For example, maybe Quiot treats small injuries as on-the-job accidents, while Panoply consider only serious injuries as on-the-job accidents.

Even if they have the same standard of on-the-job accidents .We cannot assume that the two plants have the same working environment.For example, there may be lots of giant machines in the Quiot Manufacturing, and it is dangerous when controlling the heavy machine in the plant.As a result, 30 percent of the on-the-job accidents could be rather common.

More over, we still need to know the exact total of the on-the-job accidents and all the workers in the plant.It can only be comparable when we get the base of the number.We may not be frustrated if the exact number is small.For instance, there may be one people injured in Panoply Industries plant, while three in the Quiot Manufacturing.The data here seems everything is well.That is why the information is still needed.

In addition, the author only use the one year data to improve that Panoply Industries plant is better than Quiot Manufacturing.However, this assumption is unwarranted because things rarely remain the same over extended period of time.The fact that happened past year is not a sound evidence to draw a conclusion that shorten the work shift is a brilliant choice.Most injuries happen by chance and are not likely to occur on a regular basis.Readers need the number on-the -job accidents over the past few year before making any judgement.

Experts say that significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents are fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers.The assumption here is that the reasons of on-the-job accidents happened in the Quiot Manufacturing and Panoply Industries plant is relative.Nevertheless, there are still many other reasons about the accident.

In conclusion, the author's recommendation as it stands now is full of flaws due to its reliance on unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to provide more reliable data for the above assumptions and offer more evidence (probably in the form of a systematic research study), then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation to reduce the working duration by one hour.