Governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.

In contrast to the argument, I strongly argue that government should place strict restrictions on scientific research and development if the research is going to harm human health or cause severe ethical problems.

Some people may argue that the government should not granted the right to place significant restrictions on scientific research, because the government will only hamper the progress of science with its own ideology.For example, Chinese government prohibited the research on dead body, as they thought it was too progressive.Even more, they demonized those doctors and scientists who got the knowledge from dead body for centuries.People believed God and were afraid of ghost, and the technology was still stagnant, which stop them form the scientists.This is the reason why some people argue that we should not place any restrictions on scientific research and they believed the more avant-garde the scientific topic is the more possible they can prevent form death.

However, as technology has improved rapidly in recent years, if scientists are allowed to research whatever topics they want, human welfare and health may be endangered.This is a two-edged sword sharper on one side.We bring the most powerful into this world.If there is no restrictions on scientific research and development, we may get hurt.For example, COVID-19 is a man-made virus, which means it does not come form nature.It is helpful to learn the construction of the virus.However, it is the explosion of the COVID-19 that make people realize that regulation is still important to scientific research.

Moreover, some research that could potentially raise severe ethical problems should also be restricted.For example, human cloning has always been a controversial issue in the world.While the development of such technology would surely improve the survival rates of humans and prolong human life by replacing old, malfunctioning human organs with new ones, the dignity of the clone would be deprived by the normal human.Here is a big moral question about this kid of replacement .Is the person still the original one if all the organs are replaced?This will bring a several social problem, and the problem is still unresolved now.As a result, the government should also restrict the development and application of such technology.

To conclude, scientific research and development are the foundation of human life, but we should place restrictions on them and should not be sensationalized and exaggerated.This is a two-edged sword sharper on one side. An avant-garde topic might bring attention but at great risk of being wrong.