The following appeared in a health magazine.

The citizens of Forsythe have adopted more healthful lifestyles.Their responses to a recent survey show that in their eating habits they conform more closely to government nutritional recommendations than they did ten years ago. Furthermore, there has been a fourfold increase in sales of food products containing kiran, a substance that a scientific study has shown reduces cholesterol. This trend is also evident in reduced sales of sulia, a food that few of the most healthy citizens regularly eat.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author believes that the citizens of Forsythe have adopted more healthful lifestyles because of change of the eating habit .Although at first glance, the author's conclusion appears to be somewhat convincing, but further reflection reveals that it is based on unwarranted evidence.The evidence offered by the author is insufficient.Few pieces of evidence need to be established before the conclusion to be made.

To begin with, the author's claim relies on the recent survey.It is possible that the citizens may follow the government nutritional recommendations.However, we need more information of the survey to proof that the survey is representative.Maybe the citizens who took the survey were all heathy people.Moreover, people who took the survey might not tell the truth, because people do not want others think they are not in a good condition.In addition, we should know how many people took the survey.If there were a hundred people took the survey with the citizens number was million, then the survey would be consider unrepresentative.

Additionally, the author has not presented the statistics of the food products containing Kiran can reduce cholesterol.Perhaps he is just presenting his personal view.If it is his totally individual perception then the way he come into the conclusion may be logical and true.On the other hand, if he was presenting the official data, he has not mention the authority which has conducted the research, possibly, it might be counterfeit data.

Furthermore, the author should provide the evidence to proof that the sale of food products containing Kiran is inverses to the sale of food products containing Sulia.We do not know that if the food products containing Kiran can replace the food products containing sulia or not.Maybe the cardinal reason of the decline is not related to the sale of food products containing Kiran.It is possible that the price of food products containing sulia increase and people can not afford it.What’s more.

In conclusion, the author's conclusion as it stands now is full of flaws due to its reliance on unwarranted evidence. If the author is able to provide more reliable data for the above argument and offer more evidence, then it will be possible to fully evaluate the argument.