The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of a food distribution company with food storage warehouses in several cities.”

“Recently, we signed a contract with the Fly-Away Pest Control Company to provide pest control services at our fast-food warehouse in Palm City, but last month we discovered that over $20,000 worth of food there had been destroyed by pest damage. Meanwhile, the Buzzoff Pest Control Company, which we have used for many years, continued to service our warehouse in Wintervale, and last month only $10,000 worth

of the food stored there had been destroyed by pest damage. Even though the price charged by Fly-Away is considerably lower, our best means of saving money is to return to Buzzoff for all our pest control services.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The vice president of a food distribution company return to Buzzoff Pest Control for their control services.To make the claim more convincing, several assumptions in the argument in the argument need supports.

Last month, the vice president discovered that over $20,000 worth of food at fast-food warehouse in Palm City had been destroyed by pest damage.Meanwhile the buzz off Pest Control lost $10,000 worth of food.However, the assumption of the weather is comparable is doubtful.For example, the weather may be warmer in Palm City than in the Wintervale.Pest prefers to live in a warmer and humid place.Pest may seem to be a serious problem in Palm CIty, and a loss go $20,000 worth of food could be rather common.In the contrast, if the weather in Wintervale is cold and dry, then there would no acute problem of pest.Moreover, the lost of $10,000 could be a serious problem of food storages.

Even if the weather did not affect the damage, the assumption of the same amount of food storage is still doubtful.As there might be more amount of food in Palm City than in the Wintervale.If the food distribution company put more food in Palm City, and it is likely that Fly-Away Pest Control lost $10,000 worth of food more than Buzzoff Pest Control.

The author only use the last month’s data to improve that Buzzoff company is better than Fly-Away.However, this assumption is unwarranted because things rarely remain the same over extended period of time.The fact that happened last month is not a sound evidence to draw a conclusion that Fly-Away Pest Control will lost double worth of food ever month.For instance, it might be a spacial case and Fly-Away Pest Control did there job very well except last month.

The author claims that the price charges by Fly-Away Pest Control is considerably lower ,but they still think that Buzzoff can save the money.If the price charged by Buzzoff are considerably higher than the loss they can save, then the returning to the Buzzoff will not help company to increase profits.For example, if the Buzzoff charge $50,000 for their service per month ,the company is still losing $40,000 by choosing Buzzoff.Therefore, the company should conduct a through cost benefit analysis so that the readers can know whether turning to Buzzoff will save more money or not.

To make the assumption of the argument more convincing, the author would have to provide more information/as above mentioned.