Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

The statement seems to assume all scandals are similar in nature.Clearly, they are not.I believe most scandals can help us focus on the problems that need to be dealt with, but in the case of scandals that are private, such as extramarital affairs among pop stars and politicians, they will only distract people’s attention from important issue.

As people now have less time to spend on public issue, important public issues may be unnoticed by most people until a scandal erupts.Indeed, scandals make people focus on big issue, while the big issue is hard to know.For example, The new coronavirus outbreak is continuing to grow.Until recently, we started to realized that the border control did not work.Moreover, the minister of civil health is trying to conceal the facts.The scandal make people notice that the emergency system of the COVID-19 is weak and flawed.In this case, scandal can do the right job, and raise the concern of the deadly virus.

Some may argue that scandal reduce government credibility and they support not to reveal any kind of scandals.However, government should not cover up facts and cover up crimes.Sometimes people have blind trust in the government and large corporations.Without scandals, this blind trust may remain intact for years.For example, a large Taiwanese fast-food manufacturing company ,”Ding-Xing”, save costs by using ingredients that are not edible and potentially harmful to human health.After scandals erupted, people boycotted Ding-Xing products, causing the stock price to drop significantly .The scandals have raised awareness of food safety among customers.

However, the scandals can use to mislead the public.Because of the mass media is well developed. Scandals can be wide spreader and even exaggerated.People are easily attracted by celebrities’ sexual scandal.What’s worse, some candidates may attack to gain more votes.In the realm of entertainment, many actors or actress made scandals of themselves, and let themselves become the headline of newspapers and websites. The more frequent they are talked about by public, the more famous they become. It is hard to figure out what is the truth of the scandals, and even more this kind of scandal is bad for the society.We may surround by negative energy.

To conclude, scandals are mostly helpful, but scandals that are not related to public issues should not be sensationalized and exaggerated.