Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

I agree with the statement that student need to take a variety of course, and step outside their comfort zone.Learning is a lifetime opportunity and students have to make best use of their learning.

First of all, every field in this field is dependent on every other field. There is no single field, which can work on its own.Since various disciplines were interrelated, the study of courses outside the students‘ own field may benefit study of their own major. For example,Accounting is a traditional major and it is also a traditional industry in Taiwan.People recorded every transaction in hand writing.Combine with information system, accounting system emerge.We can deal with a huge amount of data with just one click.A accounting student with information system knowledge will be more competitive in their job.

In addition,In today’s technologically advanced society it is impossible for those who focus their attention on the concerning fields to satisfy the needs for the future society.A variety of course can broaden our vision.Because of the revolution of science, we are closely connected with other all over the world.A broaden vision can help us to make a right decision.For instance, a marketing students may need to learn a basic concept of law.It will be very helpful when importing products.Importing shoes producing form China to Taiwan will be taxed 50% more than the regular price.If a student without the basic concept, he will probably make a wrong choice.

Lastly, society and industries need a multitalented person.For example, in a big accounting firm, the auditors will need to audit many different company in an extensive range of industries.A auditor have to know a fundamental banking when auditing a national bank.More over, a company do not stay in a single field, such as EVA airline in Taiwan.EVA airline is in an aviation industry while it operates a college school, lots of restaurant, and even security company.As a result, take a variety course may help cultivate yourself to be a multitalented person.

Some might argue that taking a variety courses outside the major field of study will distract the students from learning properly.I agree that it is possible that some students may distract form their own field and can not sharpen their skills.However, it helps students to learn to deal with multiple task.

To conclude, I would say that due to demand of multitalented person in industry, for better and broad future prospects of student and expansion of social circle. Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study. It will help in the development of society and country.