The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of Quiot Manufacturing.

"During the past year, Quiot Manufacturing had 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than at the nearby Panoply Industries plant, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts say that significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents are fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers. Therefore, to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents at Quiot and thereby increase productivity, we should shorten each of our three work shifts by one hour so that employees will get adequate amounts of sleep."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument state that in quiot manufacturing unit the accident are higher in number than other indrustrial plant nearby. The author forget to mentioned the several key features on which the ramification of the argument would depend on. The argument has been flawed due the following reasons.

Firstly the author failed to mention the number of hours employees are working in the plant. there might be possibility, employeers are only working for six hours a day. working six hours a day is not the hectic work, employees can easily make the work life balance. And reducing further more one hour will be five hours which is very less, manufacturing unit has to see the profit and meet the market expectation. Simply reducing one hours in the worker shift will not help him to find the solution.

Secondly, quiot Maufacturing and panoply indrustrial plant both work in the different sector. may be the panoply industry plan not use any equipments that are being utilised by the quiot manufacturing. The equipment used by the employees in quiot manufacturing has become rustic, employee are having difficulty in using equipments. then the quiot management has to replace the old eqipment will the new one. might be that the training for how to use the equipment has not being didactic properly to the employees. proper training for the employees about the safety and how to handle machinary item properly could help the employee.

In the last, by decreasing the shift timing by 1 hour, what is the possibility that employee will take a rest. possiblity is that employee may indulge himself in some other activity,Like the watching movies, doing late night parties, or may some other business work. author fail to mention the workload of the quito manufacturing unit, may be the employeers are not getting fatigue because of work. employeers has have some family issue or some other internal problem like wage. Beacuse of it employees are thinking about the problem and not able to concentrate on the work efficiently. we can also infer that employee does not have the proper place to sleep, may be they don't have house or the house is pilthy, there were lot of mosquito, which are biting them. And should not be able to sleep properly. In this case, management should provide the proper place to sleep.

due to the above mentioned factor the agrumnet has been flawed and unconvincing. To get the proper analysis on this we need more factors to look into. Untill then this is open for debate.