The following appeared in a memo at XYZ Company.

"When XYZ lays off employees, it pays Delany Personnel Firm to offer those employees assistance in creating résumés and developing interviewing skills, if they so desire. Laid-off employees have benefited greatly from Delany's services: last year those who used Delany found jobs much more quickly than did those who did not. Recently, it has been proposed that we use the less expensive Walsh Personnel Firm in place of Delany. This would be a mistake because eight years ago, when XYZ was using Walsh, only half of the workers we laid off at that time found jobs within a year. Moreover, Delany is clearly superior, as evidenced by its bigger staff and larger number of branch offices. After all, last year Delany's clients took an average of six months to find jobs, whereas Walsh's clients took nine."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the memo at XYZ company, the author concludes that Delany’s clients are more efficient than Walsh’s by citing that Delany’s clients took an average of six months to get a job whereas Walsh’s took nine months. He comes to this conclusion based on Delany’s client’s success last year. However, this might be true. But before we can fully assess the validity of the argument, the author must provide three pieces of evidence if the argument is to hold water.

First of all, the author assumes that the laid-off employees from XYZ company have been greatly benefited after taking the service of Delany Personnel Firm since they have been able to get jobs more quickly than those who did not. However, this might not be true. It is possible that those employees after being laid off have worked hard on their weak points, developing their résumés and interviewing skills on their own. It is also possible that after they have been laid off, they have gained more experience in searching for jobs more efficiently than ever before.

Moreover, the author presumes, without justification, that Walsh Personnel Firm is cheaper than Delany and it provides poor service. But this might not be true. For example, it is possible that Walsh is more customer-friendly than Delany, who cares more about employee satisfaction with a low charge. It is also possible that Walsh demands a low charge so that everybody can afford their assistance. If a firm demands a cheaper price doesn’t necessarily mean that it provides low quality.

Last but not the least, the author assumes that Delany is predominant. He also provides a testimony that Delany has more staff and a bigger number of branch offices. Nevertheless, this might be incorrect. A firm has a greater number of staff and a number of branches don’t reflect its predominance. It is possible that Delany opened their branch to boost their profit. There is also a probability of providing unequal services from all the branches.

In conclusion, the author may be correct in arguing that Delany's Personnel Firm ranks higher than Walsh Personnel Firm. However, as it stands now, the argument stands on three assumptions that dramatically hinder its validity. If the author would like to increase the persuasiveness of his argument, he must provide the evidence above and he must also provide accurate results as well.