The following appeared in a memo at XYZ company.

"When XYZ lays off employees, it pays Delany Personnel Firm to offer those employees assistance in creating résumés and developing interviewing skills, if they so desire. Laid-off employees have benefited greatly from Delany's services: last year those who used Delany found jobs much more quickly than did those who did not. Recently, it has been proposed that we use the less expensive Walsh Personnel Firm in place of Delany. This would be a mistake because eight years ago, when XYZ was using Walsh, only half of the workers we laid off at that time found jobs within a year. Moreover, Delany is clearly superior, as evidenced by its bigger staff and larger number of branch offices. After all, last year Delany's clients took an average of six months to find jobs, whereas Walsh's clients took nine."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The following argument is flawed for various reasons. The argument states the XYZ company should continue to use Delany services instead of switching to another company. XYZ makes the case that the services provided by Delany have enabled people to get jobs faster than those not using Delany services. Likewise, XYZ company assume that Delany company is better than Walsh because it is bigger and Walsh was unable to provide quality service to XYZ 8 years ago. The argument is based on these various assumptions with no evidence to support them.

To being, XYZ company stated that those who used the Delany services to find jobs found jobs quicker than those people would do not use Delany services. The XYZ company is assuming that Delany services is the only factor that helped or in turn caused these people acquire jobs faster. However, there may be many factors at play and to be reason for getting jobs faster. The argument would have been stronger if it included a piece of information stating that the other companies usually hire people who use Delany services more frequently than those who do not use the services.

Another assumption within the argument is that XYZ company is relating past and present situations. XYZ is choosing against Walsh services due to the fact that 8 yrs ago, when XYZ did use Walsh, only half of the employees laid off found other employment. The argument would have be stronger if the argument would have included that current research has shown other companies using Walsh services have also had problems with quality and low rates of hiring after an employee is laid off.

The argument is also based off the assumption that Delany and Walsh can be compared to each other. XYZ company stated the Delany was better because it is a larger company, more staff members and more branches. But can Delany and Walsh be compared? The two companies may provide the similar services but just because a company is larger does not mean it provides better service. The argument would have been stronger if it included facts that as a result of the larger size of the Delany services, communication, business relations, etc. was easier and less of a hassle than working with a smaller company like Walsh.

Because this argument made by the XYZ company contains many flaws, it fails to make a convincing case that the choice to continue with Delany services will be the most beneficial.