The following appeared in a memo at XYZ company.

"When XYZ lays off employees, it pays Delany Personnel Firm to offer those employees assistance in creating résumés and developing interviewing skills, if they so desire. Laid-off employees have benefited greatly from Delany's services: last year those who used Delany found jobs much more quickly than did those who did not. Recently, it has been proposed that we use the less expensive Walsh Personnel Firm in place of Delany. This would be a mistake because eight years ago, when XYZ was using Walsh, only half of the workers we laid off at that time found jobs within a year. Moreover, Delany is clearly superior, as evidenced by its bigger staff and larger number of branch offices. After all, last year Delany's clients took an average of six months to find jobs, whereas Walsh's clients took nine."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

It is stated in the memo that XYZ company continue using the services of Delany Personnel Firm to provide assistance to its laid-off employees in finding a new job rather than switching to Walsh Personnel Firm as Delany takes less time to help them find new jobs, Delany has bigger staff and more branches and also, eight years ago, only half of the laid-off employees found jobs through Walsh's Firm. Though, at first glance, the evidence looks convincing, upon further contemplation, one would require further peices of evidence to properly evaluate the recommendation.

Firstly, the memo mentions that eight years ago, when XYZ company was using the services of Walsh Presonnel Firm, only half of the employees who were laid-off were able to find a new job. To understand the efficacy of Walsh Firm, one would require to know the number of laid-off employees that had actually availed the services of Walsh. Perhaps, only half of the laid-off employees made use of Walsh services and all of them were able to find a new job. In contrast, there is a possibility that the job market eight years ago was such that there were not many job openings and hence, it was quite difficult to secure a new job no matter who the service provider was. If either of the above scenarios had merit, then the author's conclusion that Walsh Personnel Firm is not capable enough to provide good serices does not hold water.

Secondly, the author asserts that Delany's clients took only six months to find a new job where as Walsh clients took nine months on average to find a new job. The author, however, does not mention the kind of jobs that the Delany's clients were able to join in. When an employee is laid-off, he/she will be desperate to find a new job and more often than not, they either reduce the salary requirements or aim for a lower position job to increase their chances of finding a new job. Perhaps, Delany handle clients that have lesser requirements in their new jobs than those which they had in the previous and hence, were able to find new jobs in lesser time. On the other hand, Walsh may be handling clients that demand the same or higher salary or position as they had in their previous job and therefore, take more time to secure a new job. If the above case turns out to be true, then the author's argument is significantly weakened.

Finally, the author fallaciously assumes the Delany is more efficient than Walsh for Delany employes larger staff and they have more branches. However, this may not be true. There is every possibility that Walsh is using state of the art technology to run their business which enables them to operate with less staff and branches. In contrast, Delany might be using out dated technology that necessitates it to operate with more personnel and branches. Hence, one would require evidence about the typing of technology to accurately guage the efficacy of both the firms.

Therefore, the argument, as it stands, is unpersuasive as the evidence that are provided in the argument are ambigous and misleading. One will be in a better position to evaluate the soundness of the recommendation if the author can provide information about the above mentioned evidence.