The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of the Juniper Cafe, a small, local coffee shop in the downtown area of a small American city:

"We must reduce overhead here at the cafe.Instead of opening at 6 am weekdays we will now open at 8 am. On weekend, we will only open from 9 am until 4 pm. The decrease in hours of operation will save money because we wont be paying for utilitie, employee wages, or other operating costs during the hours closed. This is the best strategy for us to save money and remain in business without having to eliminate jobs."

The owner of the Juniper Cafe might be seriously concerned and focused on cutting down on the costs incurred from the operational costs of the cafe. The author's strategy of decreasing the number of hours on weekdays and weekends might seriously reduce the operational costs but may have loss of sales and end up having only losses in their business and eventually eliminating jobs of many.I strongly feel that the owner is looking only at one side of the problem and completely and ignorantly overlooking the repursions with this kind of strategy.

To believe that the owner's strategy might be validated and substantiated, the owner could have provided evidence proving that the sales are sparse and scant before 8 am in the morning during the weekdays and after 4pm in the weekends. The author fails to provide data about the cafe's sales and number of visitors during the day and night hours on weekdays and weekends.Let us consider that since its a weekend many people wake up late and would like to go out of the house during the evenings and if they find that the cafe is closed, then it would eventually decrease the number of sales, though it is reducing the operational costs of the cafe. This would weaken the owner's argument. Business people and other city workers stop by the cafe to have their morning breakfast or coffee.

Further, the owner does mention that the cafe is in the downtown of the city, there is a higher chance that the cost of living in downtown places will be much higher comparitively. May be that could be the primary reason. And due to that, the owner could consider change of place of the cafe that could save the him/her a lot of money.

The owner does mention that its a small cafe, and also mentions that we need not reduce the montly wages of the workers. If its a small cafe, there could be a possibility that the owner is maintaining a larger number of staff, or investing more amount on utilities, which could just be superfluous, and prove to be wasting money. To substantiate the suggestion made by the owner, he/ she should have provided data regarding the number of workers or staff members that the owner employs, their monthly wages, or incentives, the elecricity bills, or water bills, etc. Using all the aforementioned data, we could either suggest and encourage that the owner's strategy is right or find out the loop holes and find a better strategy that does not allow cutting down on the working hours of the cafe.

From the memorandum of the cafe owner, his main motive is to save money, and to not eliminate jobs, and to support the strategy mentioned by the owner, they should have provided data regarding the monthly sales of the cafe spread over each weekday and weekend, and to decide to cut down the number of working hours, it would be advicable for the owner to provide data regarding sales for each hours, the monthly wages of the employess and number of staff members. Overlooking this data and blindly employing the strategy suggested by the owner may bring about negative impact on the sales of the cafe and would bring in more loss and eventually shut down of the cafe.