The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of video rental stores.

“In order to reverse the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore’s ten video rental stores. Since we are famous for our special bargains, raising our rental prices is not a viable way to improve profits. Last month our store in downtown Marston significantly decreased its operating expenses by closing at 6:00 P.M. rather than 9:00 P.M. and by reducing its stock by eliminating all movies released more than five years ago. Therefore, in order to increase profits without jeopardizing our reputation for offering great movies at low prices, we recommend implementing similar changes in our other nine Movies Galore stores.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the following memorandum by the Owner of Movie Galore, he tries to explain the new policy that will help the firm to get an unwanted development in their field of operation which is video retail business or more specifically a chain video rental stores. In the owner’s memo, there are more than a few unclear assumptions which should be cleared in order to make the letter more productive and a good business memo. Business language should be clearer. This memo is an example of unclear business memo and communication. Here are essential points that the author of the memo should improve and essential questions the author should answer.

First, it is unclear how much the changes in the franchise the owner refers were productive. The owner says only that costs were “significantly decreased” in operations. But in business, there is much call for a quantitative information. And surely, the other franchise managers/owners could be helped with a more specific information about how much is “significant” really is. An improved version would include specific numbers and also the explanation of motivations to shut the operation in the given hours particularly instead of other hours.

Further, there is an assumption that changes in one franchise are automatically transferable to another one. This is many a time not the case at all. Every store has its own mechanics of operations and its own particularities which the people who are in charge of it must operate and manage. It is not clear what the owner meant by “similar” changes which referred in the passage. Does the author means same hours of store operation or does the author means cutting the stock of old movies or both? And yet it is also unclear if such changes will be productive in any other store because each store has it’s own story and there is not enough information about how and why such changes like in the first store should work out well in all the other ones.

Finally, there is an issue of business viability, we know that video rentals are a business that due to a massive disruption from online retailers such as Netflix and other direct online companies that stream videos. However, we do not know where are the franchises located. Had we known the distance, the better advice might have been to merge few of the shops into one and become a boutique video shop in order not to incur further operational losses on the massive disruption.

To conclude, there are many questions that could lead the business owner of Movie Galore to be more specific and prompt in the memorandum. There should be an effort to quantify the data and be more precise in the communication with the store owners. We have discussed some but not all of the points which the owner should have sharpened in order to make a more viable adjustment to the business in the light of the massive and grand changes in their field of operation.