The following appeared in a memorandum from the planning department of an electric power company.

"Several recent surveys indicate that home owners are increasingly eager to conserve energy. At the same time, manufacturers are now marketing many home appliances, such as refrigerators and air conditioners, that are almost twice as energy efficient as those sold a decade ago. Also, new technologies for better home insulation and passive solar heating are readily available to reduce the energy needed for home heating. Therefore, the total demand for electricity in our area will not increase — and may decline slightly. Since our three electric generating plants in operation for the past twenty years have always met our needs, construction of new generating plants will not be necessary."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In a memorandum, the planning department of an electric power company stated that not only the total need for electricity in our area would not enhance, but also, it may decrease slightly. Thus the construction of new generating plants will not be necessary due to the fact that our three electric generating plants in operation for the past twenty years have always met our demands. The planning department has come to this conclusion based on the consequence of the several recent surveys about the eagerness of people in conserving energy as well as better energy efficiency new home appliances, and also supplying home heat using new insulation methods and passive solar heating. While the correlations stated are logical and probable, three questions must be answered before this recommendation can be appropriately evaluated.

First of all, are the number of electric home appliances using the same over time? In other words, the factors that are used to measure the total electricity demand may change over time. For example, the population is growing, and accordingly, the number of people who are using electrical devices is swiftly increasing, and it may result in more energy usage every day. Moreover, due to the invention of new assistant electrical devices, people who are eager to have a more comfortable life, be interested in using beneficial electrical appliances more than before; therefore, the amount of energy will decrease. If either of these scenarios has merit, then the conclusion drawn in the original argument is significantly weakened.

Secondly, can people be sure that passive solar heating is available all days of the year? The company prematurely assumed that using new technologies for better home insulation as well as passive solar heating can decrease the energy needed for home heating. However, this might not be the case. Perhaps changes in the climate cause a frigid winter in which not only the passive solar heating is not sufficient to provide any heat, but also the need for electricity intensifies even more than at the same time in the previous years. Also, there is still a possibility of cold weather on a rainy day in autumn which the passive solar heating can not be used. If the above is true, then the argument does not hold water!

Furthermore, is the lifetime of electric generating plants forever? The author's assumption about the no need for new plants is because of the three old electric generating plants working for the last twenty years. What if these plants or some of them destroy in a chilly or scorching season in which the requirements of electricity is more than other times. It is undoubtedly true that every electrical device has a lifetime and cannot work forever. Considering the fact that building generating plants takes more attention than other electrical devices, the phenomenon of generating plants' breaking down has a possibility that cannot be denied. Therefore, based on the question mentioned earlier, concluding this assumption seems fragile.

To wrap it up, the argument, as it stands now, is considered flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to answer the tree question above and offer more evidence (perhaps in the form of a systematic research study), then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the memorandum, not to construct new generating plants.