The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In an article written by an anthropologist named Dr. Karp, it is stated that his recent research on child-rearing traditions in island cultures is rejected Dr. Field's conclusion from his observations in Tertia. The author has come to this conclusion based on his recent interviews with children living in the group of islands. However, two questions must be answered before this claim can be adequately evaluated.

First of all, are the children from twenty years ago and now are roughly comparable? In other words, can observed results from twenty years ago' children be used to make generalizations and predictions about different eras? It is possible that from twenty years ago until now, people's behaviors and habits have changed a lot, and one of these changes is how they let their children grow up. Perhaps the situation and circumstances of people, such as their jobs, concerns, style of living, the distance between houses, the size of family members, etc., made people change their treatment from what they learn from their parents. For example, twenty years ago, the family members like uncles, aunts, or cousins were a lot that all their children spend time together or in each others house most of their time. Also, it may be because of their type of jobs; in village cultures, working in a group is expected in which people prefer to work together and share the outcome. As a result, it may be the cause that their children also reared all with each other. If either of these scenarios has merit, then the conclusion drawn in the argument is significantly weakened.

Secondly, are all village cultures or people living in even different islands completely similar? The author's conclusion is based on his recent interviews with children living in islands that include Tertia and not just Tertia's children. In statistical research, the amount of data and its variation can change the result remarkably. For instance, it may the number of children of other islands, and as a result, the amount of data of them are much more than Tertia's. Thus, the result can be biased on other islands or even the island with more children. Therefore, the possibility that the results of this research are not entirely similar or even dissimilar to what is on Tertia cannot be denied. If the above is true, then the argument does not hold water!

To wrap it up, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to answer the two questions above and offer more evidence, it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of his claim to discredit Dr. Field's research consequence.