The following appeared in a newsletter to Canbury’s residents from the president of

Plexma Motors.

“I am pleased to announce that Plexma’s new manufacturing site is on schedule to open

next year. In addition to our regular line of cars, Plexma has also begun designing and

testing a line of automated self-driving vehicles. In a recent survey conducted by the

Canbury Gazette, 60 percent of residents reported that they would purchase a Plexma selfdriving

vehicle in the future if they were confident in the vehicles’ safety. We are happy to

report that last summer, we tested our new line of self-driving vehicles in downtown

Canbury with great success. Not only did our five tested vehicles remain accident-free for

two months during testing, but in a survey conducted after testing, 90 percent of

Canbury’s residents reported that when they were downtown and our vehicles were in

operation they felt very safe. Because steady demand for our self-driving vehicles will

create new jobs and thereby greatly benefit Canbury’s economy as a whole, I recommend

that you vote to allow Plexma to begin manufacturing and selling these vehicles in

Canbury when our new site opens.”

The author of the article which appeared in a newsletter from the president of plexima Motors provided weak evidence and used vague words in his/her recommendation, which calls for residents to vote for allowing plexima to begin manufacturing automated self-driving vehicles in Canbury when the company's new site opens. Not only did the he/she provide unclear evidence, but also naivly made strong assumptions, hence the argument is unpursuasive.

First, the word "recent" may have different meanings and possibilities, and the author needs to identify and specify his/her intention. moreover, the survey mentioned in the argument gives rise to many questions, such as: was the sample in the survey representative? did all of the residents take the survey?

Second, the author implied that the judgment of succuess of the vehicles was justified by its being accident free for two months. The basis of this assumption needs to be further elaborated.

Third, the author added another survey that may not be accepted as strong enough evidence for the argument. moreover, he/she stated that residents felt "safe", which is ambiguous and subjective. The author did not present the means by which the level of safety felt by residents was measured.

To conclude, various critical mistakes have been encountered in the argument that henders it equivocal thus in its current state the statement is flawed.