The following appeared in a newsletter offering advice to investors:

“Techcorporation is our top pick for investment this term. We urge all of our clients to invest in this new company. For the first time in ten years, a company that has developed satellite technology has been approved by the FTA to compete with the current satellite provider. That company is Techcorporation. A consumer survey last year indicated that over eighty percent of respondents were dissatisfied with the current satellite television provider and would want to switch to another provider if the industry were not a monopoly. Thus, the new venture of Techcorporation into satellite television will prove to be highly profitable for those who invest now.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the advice and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the advice.

According to the prompt, the investors are advised to invest in Technocorporation - a satellite provider, because the company is very likely to make high profits in near future. The advisers’' say that, people are having problems with the current satellite provider and they would want to switch to some other provider if possible and also the new satellite provider has been approved by FTA to compete with the current provider. At cursory glance the advice seems justified, but a careful examination of the argument on which the advice is based makes the advice seem flimsy for below reasons.

Question of survey's validity and credibility should be answered. The newsletter states that the survey was conducted one year ago. It could be possible that because of this survey, the old station has improved it programs to stop loosing its viewers. If, the people are liking the old channel they may not want to watch new channel. Moreover, the data about survey is not given. What if only 10% of the population has participated in the survey? It could be possible that the rest 90% are happy with the current satellite provider. This means the survey has failed to capture the opinion of all the people. Also, the reason why people are not satisfied with current provider is not mentioned. What if the money paid for the current channel is too high? If, the new channel also charges a huge amount of money for people it is very likely that people will like the new channel. So, the advisers should provide evidence to prove that the survey is reliable and credible.

Will the new satellite television be successful as expected? This very important question that should be answered by the advisors. Television station's success depends on many factors, First of all the channel should be able to attract some viewers and advertisers. What if the channel is not able to telecast good quality programs? In this case, the viewers may not prefer to watch the new channel. Also, a new channel may need years to get staunch viewers in the era of internet. Now a days television is not only the medium of entertainment. It could be possible that, the new channel fails to attract viewers altogether. Moreover, advertisers are crucial to provide financial support for the channel. It could be possible that the channel does not have advertiser friendly policy and because of this advertisers are not willing to sponsor any programs. In this case, chances of channel making high profit is very less. The advisors should overcome all possibilities of new channel’s failure to make their advice valid.

To conclude, the advisors fail to present a cogent argument, which undermines the validity of advice. If, the advisors had given some more evidence to make their argument strong, the advice would have been more tenable. Thus, it is very difficult to evaluate the advice is reliable or not based on the current argument and more data is needed. So, the investors should take the advice with a grain of salt.