The following appeared as part of an article in a Dillton newspaper.

"In an effort to bring new jobs to Dillton and stimulate the city's flagging economy, Dillton's city council voted last year to lower the city's corporate tax rate by 15 percent; at the same time, the city began offering generous relocation grants to any company that would move to Dillton. Since these changes went into effect, two new factories have opened in Dillton. Although the two factories employ more than 1,000 people, the unemployment rate in Dillton remains unchanged. The only clear explanation for this is that the new factories are staffed with out-of-town workers rather than Dillton residents."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The article states that in order to stimlate the city's economy, Dillton's city council lowered the corporate tax rate by 15 percent and offered relocation grants to the company would move to Dillton. The author considers the policy works and points out that the increase of two factories and more than 1000 employees in the factories are conspicuous evidences. The reasons sound sensible at first, unconvincing points, however, come out by cautious peruse.

Firstly, the editor states that two factories moving to the city means activation of economy. We should ask that what kind of resources the factories are seeking for. Perhaps the factories are seeking for a good location instead of the grants to set their factories. It is also possible that there are some resources that the factories use to produce their products. Investigating more about the purpose of the moved fatories is helpful to assure the validity of the assumption.

Secondly, even though these people are not local residents, more than 1000 employees in the factories does matter. If the employees are from Dillton, the argument is cogent. The out-of-town workers are not representative of the stimulated economy. Instead, this might represent that fewer and fewer people are willing to work locally. On the other hand, the salary for every worker are questionable. If their salary is lower than average, maybe the economy recessed. Therefore, one is sure that the policy works only when more detail of employees are provided.

Finally, the article is lacking of other possible factors. Possitive factors, such as the city has other policies which attracts factories to come. The better transportation systems and lower cost are both possible. On the contrary, potential negative facotrs also exist. Many people don't want to work locally so that few workers are in the local factories. The city has bad security leading to few factories and few residents. With more carefully thinking for the assumption, the evaluation of the policy will be reasonable.

In conclusion, the policy is attractive to many companies. However, the way the council assesses the strategy have to be more profound. To be profound, the way they do should focus on deeper information such as why the factories moved and why no residents work here rather than on the superficial evidences.