Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at least some of the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. Unfortunately, according to reports from local hunters, the deer populations are declining. Since these reports coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt, we can conclude that the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The statement points out that the decrease of deer population is lead by the arctic deers are unable to migrate. The author is based on that the statement of hunters that less and less deers are observed and that the coincidence of decline in deers with global warming. The global warming might be harmful to the exist of deers. but the assumptions based on the aforementioned reasons are not significant.

First, the article states that based on the viewpoint of hunter that the deer populations are declining, one can deduce that the number of deers are declining. The result is problematic. we should ask how hunters know the deer population is going down. perhaps these hunters just saw that there are fewer deers outside. The hunters saw the zone has less deers than before and speculate that the deers disappeared. The questionable speculation should be amend by asking what evidences the hunters found and assure the phenomenon.

Secondly, The author considers that since the decrease of deers coincides with global warming, the global warming is the main reason of the lower number of deers. The wrong causality will be invalid by thinking further that these two events might just happen at the same time. The global warming makes the frozen sea shrink, but it's unreasonable that deers don't feel that and run away. what's more, warmer weather makes plants grow and more and more food is provided for deers. The assumption that the relationship of global warming and declining deers is weak if we check the results given by the article. The more effective question is to investigate whether the higher temperature affects the frozen sea and then affects the survival of deers.

Thirdly, even the evidences we just mentioned are strong enough, others possiblities are left to be considered. there are many other ways that influence negatively or positively on the number of deers. Take human activities as exmaple. The air pollution from populous cities, vehicles, boats and any other activities we human do that might emit something are all crisis to environment and wild animals which includes deers. On the other hand, the hunters, perhaps, are the murderers who killed so many deers that number of deers decreases. Although we all don't know the truth, taken more factors will be the right way we reach it.

In conlusion, as we don't realize much about the truth, more clues are needed. The editor provides evidences which are partially correct. taken more information and researching more lead us to effecient result.