The following appeared in an e-mail sent by the marketing director of the Classical Shakespeare Theatre of Bardville.

"Over the past ten years, there has been a 20 percent decline in the size of the average audience at Classical Shakespeare Theatre productions. In spite of increased advertising, we are attracting fewer and fewer people to our shows, causing our profits to decrease significantly. We must take action to attract new audience members. The best way to do so is by instituting a 'Shakespeare in the Park' program this summer. Two years ago the nearby Avon Repertory Company started a 'Free Plays in the Park' program, and its profits have increased 10 percent since then. If we start a 'Shakespeare in the Park' program, we can predict that our profits will increase, too."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation

In the e-mail, the director points out in order to increase profit of the Classical shakespeare theatre, they will institute a 'shakespeare in the Park' program as avon repertory company did two years ago. The director does so based on that decline in the size of audience by 20 percent over the past ten years and fewer and fewer people attend their shows even though more advertisments were done. The abovementioned are pausible at first glance, but more and more flaws will be found by cautious peruse.

First, despite of the 20 percent of average audience, on one can assure that the program will attract more audience to the theatre's shows. The reason fewer people attanding shows might be the categories of their plays. The genre is out of fashion. Another possibility is that the theatre is hard to access. theatre's location is unconveniet. In order to know whether the program increase the audience, more information of the reason that audience don't refuse to the shows.

Second, the author mentions that the advertising seems useless. fewer and fewer people take part in their shows. As we know the function of advertisement is as the same as a big program. people recoganize much about the theatre after the advertising. it is difficult to consider that people will know much more after the helding of the program. The possible reason of fewer audience might be the advertising. The audience dilikes the theatre after they checke the advertisment. other possibility, like aforementioned, maybe their shows are out of fashion, or the location is hardly accessible. Only is the effect of advertisements provided, we can confirm that the program's feasibility.

Finally, the theatre decided to hold program as avon repertory company did. While we know fewer about the situation of the company and how is the similarity these two coporations, the prediction that imitation of theatre might be failed. Perhaps the location of the avon repertory company is in downtown, it is accessible easily. maybe the avon repertory company is famous company worldwide. Without valid and representative data, we hard to be sure whether it will be success by taking the same strategy as other company.

In conclusion, on reaslizing more and more detail about the theatre, the prediction is feasible and valid. even the reasons above seem cogent and convincing, there are flaws if we read craefully. To successfully deduce the result, much more carefully inspection is necessary.