Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Universities should give the same amount of money to their students’ sports activities as they give to their university libraries.

Everyone enjoys sports when they are free. By sports we can relax and train our bodies. However, many people might think sports are not important activities, I do agree that sports are valuable and should be treated significantly. The following passages will illustrate the reasons I hold.

First of all, people do exercise to strengthen or relax bodies. If we do not train our bodies, we will feel weak and easy to get hurt. Besides, exercising also increase our willpower. In other words, doing exercising makes our bodies and mind heathier. For example, when I was a student in Taiwan, I had a roommate, John. His hobbies were jogging, heavy training and soccer. Every day when I met him, he was always happy and vigorous. Furthermore, after he worked out, I could see that he had more energy to do more things such as studying. What is more, he was always looking on the bright sight. Sometimes John suggested me that if I felt worried about something, I could do exercise. Following his advice, I went to jogging before I was going to present at our lab meeting. I found that I felt calm and started to believe I could do it well. Consequently, my performance was excellent. This example tells us that sports are as important as any other activity.

Secondly, despite the fact that sports are merely parts of our lives, there are still many athletes whose jobs are sports. We can see a lot of athletes are shining on the national stages. Not only is playing basketball their hobby, but also they earn money by means of sports. That is to say, sports are another way to develop career. I made a friend, Tom, when I was traveling in Japan. He liked to play basketball. When I was staying in Japan, he usually invited me to play basketball with him. Few years later after I left Japan, I saw a sport news about a team won a basketball game on the international stage. I recognized that one of these superstars was Tom. From the story we know that sports are another good way to step our career forward.

In conclusion, sports are important as other academic activities because they are good to our bodies and whole lives.