The following appeared as part of an article on government funding of environmental regulatory agencies.

“When scientists finally learn how to create large amounts of copper from other chemical elements, the regulation of copper mining will become unnecessary. For one thing, since the amount of potentially available copper will no longer be limited by the quantity of actual copper deposits, the problem of overmining will quickly be eliminated altogether. For another, manufacturers will not need to use synthetic copper substitutes, the production of which creates pollutants. Thus, since two problems will be settled—overmining and pollution—it makes good sense to reduce funding for mining regulation and either save the money or reallocate it where it is needed more.”

Discuss how well reasoned... etc.

The argument claims that developing artificial copper may eliminate the need for actual copper, mined from the mines. Stated in this way, the argument lacks several key linkages, which strengthen our belief in the outcome suggested by the author. The claim suffers from inadequate reasoning and lack of factual support and directly jumps on to the conclusion to reallocate the funds for copper mining, which is unconvincing.

First, the author takes for granted the value addition original copper and copper mining brings to the society – such as re-vitalization of the copper mines, usage of original copper metal in kitchen utensils and health benefits of the metal. The author tends to ignore the fact that original copper metal has multiple health benefit, which artificial copper cannot provide. Concluding the copper mining unnecessary is a claim that is ill—founded and not well researched.

Second, the argument makes a giant leap to conclude that overmining can be mitigated by the use of artificial copper. The author clearly does not take into account the present and future market demand of original copper. This argument could have been well reasoned if the author had presented some data points related to the usage of copper in the society along with proportion of projected demand of original versus artificial copper.

Third, author of this arguments makes another ill-reasoned claim about the usage of pollutants in the copper mining process. This claim is ill-reasoned because of two reasons – Primary, there is no clear mention of the process, which is used for developing artificial copper and hence no mention of the harmful pollutants this new process may generate; Secondary, the amount of produce is not compared for the subject being discussed i.e. what will the quantity of artificial cotton be if the program is successful versus what is the current and forecasted quantity of original cotton produce. Without comparing both the quantities there is not enough factual support for the claim to be believed.

In conclusion, the argument is flawed for the above mentioned reasons and is therefore unconvincing. Ong stretched claims and unfounded assumption have weakened our belied in the claims by the author. In order to establish the merits of a certain policy/innovation it essential to present all the details of contributions factors, which is missing from the argument.