The following appeared as part of an editorial in an industry newsletter.

“While trucking companies that deliver goods pay only a portion of highway maintenance costs and no property tax on the highways they use, railways spend billions per year maintaining and upgrading their facilities. The government should lower the railroad companies’ property taxes, since sending goods by rail is clearly a more appropriate mode of ground transportation than highway shipping. For one thing, trains consume only a third of the fuel a truck would use to carry the same load, making them a more cost-effective and environmentally sound mode of transport. Furthermore, since rail lines already exist, increases in rail traffic would not require building new lines at the expense of taxpaying citizens.”

Discuss how well reasoned... etc

The argument talks about the different types of tax and lends support to a claim suggesting lowering of taxes for railway corporations. This claim is then supported by two weakly supported reasons and thus is subject to further argument. The reasons forwarded by the author of this argument are not well researched and lacks factual support.

First, the author tries to establish a definitive linkage between the tax paid and amount of maintenance and upgradation taken place by corresponding corporation either railway or trucking. This linkage lacks any further evidence as to what is the amount of highway maintenance tax paid by the trucking industry and on the viability of adding further property tax to the bucket.

Second, author mentions one of the two reasons, cited as support to the argument, to be the fuel consumption by train as compared to trucks per unit load. This line of reason is clearly not warranted for. Two major questions need to be answered before concluding such a claim – What is the difference between average frequency of deliveries made by trucks and rails? And How are the recipients of rail and truck deliveries distributed across country? For one, they could be sparsely distributed and taking complete rail for a small delivery is not in the best interest of the corporation. Additionally there is no clear explanation provided for how the fuel consumption affects the environment, because if the rail is traveling to different destinations for small deliveries it ends up consuming lot more fuel and correspondingly emitting lot more pollution

Third, existence of the rail lines has been taken as an undue advantage in the comparison of train versus trucks. The author fails to mention the current and future projections of rail usage and current scenario of the rail tracks. There could be cases where a place is reachable only by the trucks and not by the rail. Constructing completely new railway framework for such locations is not accounted for in the author’s reasoning and hence the reasoning is ill-supported.

In conclusion, our faith in the author’s claim and conclusion would have been strengthened if he or her mentioned the data points required for a complete analysis of the scenario. The incomplete information mentioned and weakly supported reasons make it difficult for the reader to make a fair comparison between the two entities and reach out to a conclusion in alignment with what the author cited. Cited this way, the argument lacks foundational aspects and required support to strengthen the conclusion. Hence, the argument is not well reasoned and open for further debate and questioning.