The following appeared as part of an article in a trade publication.

“Stronger laws are needed to protect new kinds of home-security systems from being copied and sold by imitators. With such protection, manufacturers will naturally invest in the development of new home-security products and production technologies. Without stronger laws, therefore, manufacturers will cut back on investment. From this will follow a corresponding decline not only in product quality and marketability, but also in production efficiency, and thus ultimately a loss of manufacturing jobs in the industry.”

The Author of the passage, which appeared in the publication, makes two major claims about the manufacturers as a whole and about the implications of lack of investment on the job market. Both the claims are un-supported and lack evidence necessary enough to consider them true. Among various flaws, present in the argument, there are three major flaws, which are unsubstantiated and not well reasoned.

First, the author makes a direct correlation between implementation of a stronger law and manufacturer investing in the products. No ideal reasoning or proof is present in the argument to consider the above mentioned correlation to be true. For example, there are multiple instances where even stronger laws fail to motivate some companies to implement new improvements in production with increase in investments. Moreover, the law itself is subject to scrutiny, as, there are various laws related to environment protection that calls for up to 10 years prison time. Nevertheless, some of these laws are not imposed in the real scenario and are subject to corruption and exploitation.

Second, an increase in investment on a particular product will not guarantee the product’s failure or success in the consumer market. Consumers today are picky and well informed about the products concerning them. For sure, an increase in budget for enhancing the product will increase in the product quality in some way but will not guarantee to be a limiter on the ongoing decline of that product. For example, Nokia smart phones, in the year 2005-2010 were undergoing the biggest downfall they have ever seen. All of the Nokia’s products were scheduled to revamp and heavy investments were allocated to revive the company, yet, every effort failed.

Third, the author vaguely concludes that lack of investment will lead to loss of manufacturing jobs in the industry. This claim is seriously flawed because investments in product enhancement are nowhere related to jobs and job market as a whole. It is an independent decision and does not affect the employee base of the company in any form. No company will cut back on employees and invest money in enhancing the product that, they believe, will perform according to their expectations. Investment budget comes out of profits that companies make and not from individual salaries, as mentioned in the given argument.

In conclusion, this argument is based on weak assumptions and unfounded correlations and that would not hold true in the real live scenarios. The author could have strengthen his claims by mentioning examples of industry , where investing has actually resulted in decreased imitations of their products or increased marketability. Nevertheless, while presenting a causal relationship between two events, one should always add related evidence/facts that act as strengthener to their claims.