The following appeared in a report presented for discussion at a meeting of the directors of a company that manufactures parts for heavy machinery.

“The falling revenues that the company is experiencing coincide with delays in manufacturing. These delays, in turn, are due in large part to poor planning in purchasing metals. Consider further that the manager of the department that handles purchasing of raw materials has an excellent background in general business, psychology, and sociology, but knows little about the properties of metals. The company should, therefore, move the purchasing manager to the sales department and bring in a scientist from the research division to be manager of the purchasing department.”

Discuss how well reasoned... etc.

This argument claims that internal movement within the organization would result in the desired growth of revenues for the company. In this argument the author provides specific scenario in which company's revenue is falling and blamed the fall on the purchase manager, nonetheless ruled out a judgment to replace him. The basis for this consideration is flawed in several ways and lacks key consideration points to remedy the problem at hand.

First, the author aligns the dropping revenues with the delays in manufacturing without considering deliberating other key causes of the drop. For a large conglomerate there is often more than one reason for any particular phenomena. On similar lines, one of the many reasons common to most of the heavy machinery companies is the influx of competition. Competition can arise from both an already established company and a new entrant in the line of business. The author of this argument fails to consider this key aspect while drawing to the conclusion. Other major reason for plunging revenues is the seasonality in demand of the produce of these companies. An example of seasonality is the sale of soft drinks that falls steeply in the months of December to February each year. This phenomenon does not call for an internal movement or reshuffling of the soft drink companies leadership positions. The author of the argument fails to consider various related factors before giving away his judgment, making his argument less believable and less trustworthy.

Second, the author inappropriately takes into account the subject’s field of study and correlates it with the plunging revenues. The topic of study affecting our day to day work is widely debated and well researched and no correlation whatsoever has been concluded out of the wide research. It is however a major drawback in the authors reasoning that field of study does limits a man's potential to show excellence in the work not related to his study. The argument could have been stronger if the author would have mentioned instances where the delays in manufacturing actually contribute majority of the reason in the dropping revenues and that the purchase manager, irrespective of his field of study has deliberately caused the delay or was proved inefficient in his work.

In conclusion, the argument is weak and lacks necessary reasoning to be considered as true. The argument depends on weak assumption and un-supported causal relationships between plunging sales and delay in manufacturing. To strengthen the argument the author must establish a direct relationship that proves the purchase manager involvement in the dropping of revenues.