The following appeared as a part of a letter to the editor of a scientific journal.

A new study of a colony of meerkats provides insights into the effects of dominance on a male meerkat’s level of testosterone. The study showed that the dominant male of the meerkat colony had blood levels of testosterone that were, on average, about double those of the colony’s non-dominant males. Alpha or dominant, male dogs also have higher levels of testosterone than non-dominant males. The study also found that the male offspring of dominant male meerkats were born with higher testosterone levels than male offspring of non-dominant males.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The conclusion from the observations of a study on a male meerkats colony is that the testosterone levels are related to dominance. The author tries to make a compelling argument by correlating the observation in meerkats to similar observations in dogs. However, as the assumptions that the argument bases on are pliable, other competing explanations are possible.

The study says that the male offspring of dominant male meerkats were born with higher testosterone levels than male offspring of non-dominant males which indicates a possibility that the levels of testosterone in a meerkat are just hereditary. If the levels of testosterone in meerkats are genetic, then the existence of a correlation is just a misperception.

Also, the study involved only a single colony of meerkats and the number of meerkats studied is not specified opens to a possibility that the observation is limited to that specific colony of meerkats. So, the results may not reflect on the whole meerkat population. Furthermore, species restraining to a specific habitat behave differently from those of other habitats. With this information not being specified, it is possible that, if assumed that there is a relation between testosterone levels and dominance, this observation is constrained only to the meerkats under study but not while.

Not only the above specified, but the argument also attempts to corroborate the observation in meerkats with that of dogs. Even if the two animals represent the same behavior, as long as they are of different species, they cannot be related. The reasons for these levels of testosterone in dogs and meerkats could be for different reasons. For instance, in dogs, it might just be an indication of foreign presence while in meerkats, it could be a way to regulate body temperature. Therefore, a similar observation in two different animals should not be misinterpreted as the phenomenon could be for different reasons.

To sum it up, dominance and the levels of testosterone cannot be correlated as long as there is not enough evidence because other possible explanations, as stated above, are possible for the observed phenomenon.