Colleges should require all students to demonstrate proficiency in at least one foreign language.

Directions: Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

As for now, with many universities specifying the English language as a prerequisite for international students, many students in colleges are already equipping themselves with the language, though it is not their mother tongue or their national language. Nonetheless, I believe that the recommendation made by the author, which is requiring students to demonstrate proficiency in at least one foreign language, is unnecessary unless it has some purpose in the fields of student’s future education.

Though it is true that a foreign language adds much weight to the student’s resume, it is very much certain that only vestiges of the language remain if the student doesn’t use the language in his daily life. Also, some students learn language by rote for solely examination purposes. In this scenario, the knowledge is just ephemeral. If this is the situation, the college shall be wasting time and resources for testing students. Therefore, implementation of the recommendation doesn’t fulfill any purpose either to the student or to the colleges.

On the contrary, let us assume a student of theology. Though many translations of the original scriptures of various religions are available, relying entirely on such translations might not reveal the true intentions of certain lines in the scriptures. For example, let us consider the Ramayana, a holy scripture in Hinduism. Though the original version of Ramayana states that the villain Ravana abducted Sita, wife of Rama, for his prurient desires, it is not an exaggeration that certain versions portray that this act is for a noble reason. However, it is undeniable that everyone has a unique perspective and definite biases. Therefore, for such students, providing an opportunity to learn a foreign language is helpful as they have a reason for learning the language. Furthermore, as these students have a purpose, they make an effort to learn meaningfully.

Furthermore, English is clearly subsuming all the world languages. In fact, it is obviating many native languages. From parents trying to communicate with their children in English to interviews and meetings in all organizations taking place in English, learning any other foreign language can be deemed unnecessary unless if the student is visiting the country in a student abroad program or if it a prerequisite for a college or a job. After all, in countries like India, there are a number of students who can cogently communicate in English than in Hindi.

To sum up, learning a language is similar to learning mathematics. Like calculus, language is highly volatile if not used. Having said that, we do not forget basic operations such as addition, multiplication, and division because our life metaphorically or directly runs with it just like the language we use on a daily basis. Unless a student has a penchant or a reason for learning foreign languages, this recommendation would not be of any value.