Technology causes more problems for modern societies than it solves.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your positions.

Technology, in my opinion, is a savior of all the world’s problems. While it is undeniable that the present problems in a society would not have existed if technology hadn’t penetrated this deeply, it is also irrefutable that human life would have long gone if it weren’t for technology. Therefore, it is essential to understand the pros and cons before judging the ominous effects of technology.

Climate crisis is no doubt the most pressing problem in the world today. This man-made problem is caused by excessive emission of greenhouse gases such as carbon dioxide, sulphur dioxide, and chlorofluorocarbons into the atmosphere. While motor vehicles are responsible for carbon dioxide and sulphur dioxide in the air, refrigerators and air conditioners release chlorofluorocarbons. However, a retrospection clearly says that motor vehicles had come in the first place when humans were in dire need of a means of faster transportation and refrigerators and air conditioners to enable us to store food. One cannot argue that these are unnecessary. In this case, it is clear that it is the human’s insatiable desire which brought this endangering situation. If we had restrained ourselves to public transport than to buy personal vehicles, we would not have landed in this crisis and in other problems such as pollution, and traffic congestion.

Another major problem in the present society is anxiety in people, which is often attributed to social media. Social media enabled faster communication between people who are present in any part of the world. But, people wanted more from it. Companies identified this need and then came cell phones which eventually added to the traditional list of basic needs. With the integration of the internet and cellphones, the ramifications were gloomy. As per a survey by NYU, more than 90 percent of children who have cell phones are suffering from one or other types of anxieties. Ironically, the results indicated that the distance between people has increased more than ever before. Furthermore, the number of cyberbullying cases is skyrocketing every day which is leading to depression and other mental disorders even in adults. After all, it is not an exaggeration to say that the word psychiatry came into existence in the 19th century, which was the time when telephones in the household are on the rise. While it is obvious that social media is to be blamed in this case, a simple question vindicates social media from this accusation. If people had resorted to moderate use of social media, would this situation arise?

To sum up, by nature, technology is pervasive and humans are gullible which entangles humans in the technology. Technology helped us to evolve in the situations which were once unfathomable. From allowing us to fly in the skies to enabling us to feed the burgeoning population, technology had been helpful throughout this journey of mankind. Therefore, rather than blaming technology for what we had done to ourselves, we should learn to control our desires to make proper use of anything.