The following appeared as part of a letter to the editor of a scientific journal.

"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that

during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

This letter cites that due to the fact that firstborn infant monkeys produce higher hormone cortisol than their younger siblings, as a result, the writer presumed that the birth order affects its levels of stimulation, connection between the hormone cortisol and increased activity levels is offered to support his or her argument. The writer's argument appears to be somewhat appealing, while a close examination will reveal that it omits some important concerns that should be addressed to substantiate the argument.

The writer's argument is based on a recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys. Whereas the study may take place in a lab or the researcher simply takes time to observe in the monkey's residential place, however, the behavior of eighteen monkeys does not equal to all monkeys. Let alone if were the experiment or observation taken place in the lab environment. This very finding - firstborn infant monkeys produce higher cortisol level - may only exists among these eighteen monkeys. In order to legitimate the finding, more data should be collected and analyzed, for example, increase the number of monkeys in terms of quantity and types. Moreover, more information about the experiment measure, either lab-based or wildlife-based environment should be revealed to shed light on the topic.

One piece of evidence stated in the letter is that the hormone cortisol is an element that prompts body for increased activity levels. Yet it appears that the writer mistakenly equal the rise in hormone cortisol, which is a potential grow in the activity levels as explained, with the level of stimulation, if not reactive. No matter are the monkeys or humans having a rise in hormone cortisol, they are prone to response, however, they can choose not to response. In that case, the firstborns who 'clam' themselves and choose not to react to the stimulation, does not fit in the category, which will obviously undermine the writer's claim.

In the letter stated another finding which is the first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol compare to others who already had several offspring. It does not lend any support to the writer's claim whatsoever. First-time mother monkeys may not be firstborns, a first-time mother monkey could be the third child in the family, in this respect, it undermines the argument.

In sum, the writer's evidence lends little credible support to his or her claim. In order to bolster his or her claim, the writer would need to provide with detailed data and thorough analysis about firstborn real-life behaviors that can represent their levels of stimulation. We would also need more information about how the experiment or study operates for the finding to be more persuasive.