The following appeared as part of a letter to the editor of a scientific journal.

"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

In the part of a letter to the editor of a scientific journal author discussed about the research had done on effect of cortisol hormone on rhesus monkeys reaction in a particular stimulating situation. The author also explained about effect of cortisol hormone in human’s reactions also. The cortisol hormone is a steroid hormone that regulates wide range of processes throughout the body and very important it helps in body response to stress. The author concluded there major conclusions from studies which are; firstly, firstborn infant monkey produce up to twice as much as hormone in stimulating situation than other younger siblings. Secondly, in humans firstborn human also produce relatively high level of cortisol in stimulating situation. Thirdly; the study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkey had higher level of cortisol than the eldest monkey also produces more cortisol hormone in stimulating situation. There are so many arguments rose on the study on the basis of given information.

The study had done on 18 rhesus monkeys which is very small sample. The author also not explain how many among 18 rhesus monkeys were mother monkey and how many were eldest monkey and also how many were younger siblings? The research will be more accurate and beneficial if the sample is appropriate, otherwise it will not be authentic. We cannot generalize the results that every elder monkey produces twice as much hormones when any unfamiliar monkey encounter the child monkeys.

Furthermore, the author did not mention that the research done on how many humans, and also the stimulating condition was different than the stimulating condition present in front of monkeys. For the human stimulating condition was the role of elder child in absence of parents. It is tendency of humans that they protect their family when they are at the authority place, so we cannot say that the response of the elder child is only due to cortisol hormone, it may due to other situations like rearing practice, personality, etc.

Additionally, the last conclusion of the research was the effect of cortisol hormone during pregnancy on response of elder monkey's response. During first pregnancy the mothers are very conscious and caring about baby and gradually in other second and third pregnancy they get relaxed in compression to first child. So, it may be possibility that due to mother’s responses toward stress situation hereditary transfer to elder baby and the elder baby reflect same response.

Conclusively, On the basis of aforementioned arguments we can say that the research has some loop holes. The research did on the basis of small sample and neglect extraneous variables also, due to which we cannot generalized the findings of the research. The research also did not show consistency of stimulating situations. The arguments explained that research need more work to conclude a generalizable statement