The following appeared as a recommendation by a committee planning a ten-year budget for the city of Calatrava.

"The birthrate in our city is declining: in fact, last year's birthrate was only one-half that of five years ago. Thus the number of students enrolled in our public schools will soon decrease dramatically, and we can safely reduce the funds budgeted for education during the next decade. At the same time, we can reduce funding for athletic playing fields and other recreational facilities. As a result, we will have sufficient money to fund city facilities and programs used primarily by adults, since we can expect the adult population of the city to increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In order to increase adult population the author of the recommendation suggests reducing funding for public schools and recreational facilities. This statement is buttressed by several evidences which should be carefully scrutinized in order to gauge the soundness of the recommendation.

First of all, we were told that the birthrate is declining and today it is only fifty per cent that of five years ago. The author tends to claim that because of the decline the number of children who enroll at schools will fall as well. At the same time, the number of students who enroll at local school may remain or even increase because some families with children may move to Calatrava. The town may be attractive for citizens of the coutnry in case Calatrava has a strong inductrial sector or new business set up in it. Moreover, today we see a significant migration from war-zones, perhaps some alylem seekers may move to Calatrava. Consequently, the decline in the birthrate does not inevitably mean that number of children will decline.

The author of the recommendation claims that city may safely reduce funding for sprot and recreational facilities. The author's claim is based on unstated assumption that only children use these facilities. However, in reality recreational and sport facilities are used by elderly and adults. Moreover, the children of the city should have a possibility to use these facilities as well. Because parents of young dwellers may decide to change their place for living in order to assure their progeny have access to all facilities which are needed for them. Thus, if the town wants to attract new residents, the stopping funding for athletic and leisure facilities is not a decent idea. Besides, the argument avers that implementation of the policy and redistribution of money on city facilities and programs which are used by adults will lead to increase of adult population. Although these factors may play a role for some adults, the major factor for many adults, who are often parents, is a possibility to give their children a decent education. In fact, the majority of adults are parents who profoundly care about the future of their progeny, consequently, schools, sport facilities for children are important factors which are taken into account when people make a decision about chaning place for living.

In conclusion, the author of the recommendation believes that reduction of birthrate will unescapably cause the decline in number of school students, however, we have demonstrated that this assumption is unwarranted. Moreover, the writer's proposal to cut funding of public education and facilities which are used by youngsters may hurt interests of the city dut to the fact that many adults are parents who desire for their offspring to give a better education and life. Thus, the recommendation may not bring expected results - increase in adult population.