The following appeared in a recommendation from the planning department of the city of Transopolis.

"Ten years ago, as part of a comprehensive urban renewal program, the city of Transopolis adapted for industrial use a large area of severely substandard housing near the freeway. Subsequently, several factories were constructed there, crime rates in the area declined, and property tax revenues for the entire city increased. To further revitalize the city, we should now take similar action in a declining residential area on the opposite side of the city. Since some houses and apartments in existing nearby neighborhoods are currently unoccupied, alternate housing for those displaced by this action will be readily available."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The prompt’s author argues that the city of Transopolis should make industrial use of a declining residential area. To support this position, the author cites the success of the city’s comprehensive urban renewal program ten years ago. Moreover, he/she claims that alternate housing will be provided for those displaced by this action. While the argument does seem promising on the surface, it still is a flawed one as it fails to provide evidence on three key matters.

To begin, the prompt fails to provide evidence that suggests the declining residential area is similar enough to area where the program was initially implemented. Indeed, it is possible that these two areas are vastly different. For instance, the land in the opposite side of the city may not be as suitable for industrial use as the land near the freeway. Perhaps, the former is remotely located and there are significant issues in terms of accessing it. Moreover, it is also possible that there are significant internet and connection issues in this region. If such situations hold merit, it is perhaps unlikely that the industrial use of the proposed land would be as successful as the one cited in the prompt.

Secondly, the author provides no evidence regarding the ways in which the residents of the declining residential area would react to the industrial use of their land. Instead, the author assumes residents will happily adjust to living in homes and apartments that exist in nearby neighborhoods. Yet, the reverse may also hold true. That is, people may not at all be accepting of the proposed plan. Moreover, even if the land’s inhabitants are willing to cooperate, it is not clear if the people in nearby neighbourhoods will. They may refuse to rehome displaced people into their apartments and houses. Given these possibilities and the paucity of proof on this matter, the author’s position is severely damaged.

Finally, the author does not provide any evidence that a plan that was implemented ten years ago will be successful today. Instead, the author gullibly assumes this to be so. Yet, this may not hold water if the circumstances that lead to the previous success no longer exist today. For example, there may have been more apposite legislature that supported the development of factories ten years ago. However, such legislature may have abolished since then. If so, it is not clear if factories will be successfully set up in the proposed region to the degree they were in the past. Similarly, it is also possible that it may have been easier to gain inhabitants’ cooperation in the past than today. This may stem from various factors. For instance, people now maybe more politically and civilly engaged than they were in the past. Given this, they may not be as susceptible to agreeing with this plan than people were in the past. Hence, if there is evidence that corroborates these potential scenarios, then it is questionable if the author’s position can be supported.

In conclusion, the author’s position is flawed as it does not provide for evidence on three key matters. However, if the author can address these issues with relevant evidence, then one can better assess the strength of the author’s argument.