The following argument was made in a newspaper editorial:

“The autonomy of any country is based on the strength of its border; if the number of illegal immigrants entering a country cannot be checked, both its economy and national identity are endangered. Because illegal immigrants pose such threats, every effort must be made to return them to their country of origin.”

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the above argument, the author links illegal immigrants to the autonomy of a country. He claims that the threats posed by these immigrants affect the national identity and economy of a country. He also believes that the autonomy of a country directly depends on the strength of its borders and any breach by illegal immigrants is a direct reflection on its weakness. He goes on to conclude that such a country can be protected only by ensuring that every effort is taken to return these illegal immigrants to their country of origin. The author has made a number of assumptions to support his argument, rather than basing it on actual facts or data.

Strength of the borders of any country doesn't directly reflect its autonomy. This is one of the many wrong assumptions the author has made. Autonomy of a country depends on various factors. A country's entire army doesn't serve at its borders and thus there are other factors which determine its military strength. The full strength of a country's military force and not just the ones stationed in the borders,rather determines it's autonomy. Other factors such as the country's diplomacy and political presence in the international stage, its history of maintaining autonomy and independence, its sovereignity and distribution of power, would directly affect its autonomy rather than the strenght of its borders.

Another assumption which the author makes is that, all immigrants who illegally cross borders pose threats to the nation. He believes that these immigrants affect the nation's economy and identity. This is not true on a number of levels. He assumes these immigrants can only bring doom and affect people. He fails to consider other possibilities, where these immigrants could be just refugees who are running away from the undesirable conditions back home. He doesn't seem to consider the fact that such immigrantst seeking refuge and help, would only be grateful to their host country. In fact they might even do their best to give back their all, and help build the economy of the country which has given them a second oppurtinity in life. Thus the author's assumption that illegal immigrants can only endanger nation is one filled with prejudice.

The author make other claims like the danger faced by a country's national identity as a result of illegal immigrants entering their country. However a nation's identity is something which has been built by a number of factors for thousands of years. A nation's identity is what its million citizens, its rich culture and heritage, everlasting history and tradition give to it. A nation's identity is not something which can be damaged in a short time by a fractional number of outsiders as the author claims.

Factual data and statistics proving the negative effects of immigrants could have been provided by the author to support is argument. The author rather bases his claims on assumptions and prejudice. He has failed to substantiate on key points and his logic is not convincing. In short, his argument is not cogent and he has failed to provide relevant evidence to strengthen his stance.