"A nation should require all its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college rather than allow schools in different parts of the nation to determine which academic courses to offer."

Education is the need of the hour; it is every citizen's birthright. Every young mind of any country needs education as much as they need basic amenities. To gain knowledge and be made aware of the various breakthroughs and happenings around the world is a right which cannot be denied to them. However, in today's world, people demand a choice in anything that is offered to them. Education is no different. People want to choose what they want to learn. Sometimes, there are certain subjects and topics which they need to learn. A nation requiring all of its students to study the same curriculum is nothing but robbing them of their choices.

Most countries in today's world are diverse within themselves. They have more than one religion or culture or clan. Different kinds of people exsisting within a nation want different things. A common curriculum would definitely not be welcome in a diverse nation. For instance, schooling prepares students for college and consequentially to face the world. A young student with the dreams of becoming a musician would want to take up subjects related to it which would prepare him for a music course in college. However if a nation has a common curriculum which requires all its students to learn Computer Science or Commerce or Biology would not benefit such a student. If he had the choice to learn sucjects falling under his interest, aa flexible curriculum would be required.

The country's diversity also refers to the difference in occupations or economical status or existing literacy. A farmer's son in a farming village, inspired by his father would want to take up agricultural sciences as a major in college. Forcing biology and computer science down such a person's throat doesn't justify the purpose of education.

While a national curriculum also means equal and fair services to every student, it has its own disadvantages. Such a curriculum would be normalized on all levels, including education cost and extent of complexity. A student from a destitute family will not be able to afford the normalized fee, while a student of immense IQ and knowledge would find the common curriculum below his calibre. A common national curriculum would be misguiding these students and would hence fail in bringing the best out of them.

While a national curriculum might seem the best for small countries with a homogenous population, it definitely has its drawbacks for bigger and diverse nations. All people are not similar and they differ in various aspects. Forcing a national curriculum until they reach college loses the purpose of education. A national curriculum for lower grades is welcome and might even establish strong bonds between the young, pure minds. However, choices should be made available for students of higher grades. They deserve to choose the desired type of education. And a national curriculum for all students until they enter college will not give them that.