“Over the past year, our late night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of local and weather news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news programs have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The above argument is an attempt to link the loss of advertising contracts and increased complaints from viwers, with the decrease in time devoted to weather and local news. According to the author, the move by the late-night news program to devote more time to national news at the cost of local and weather news has resuted in the withdrawal of local businesses from advertising during their news hour. It has also received various complaints from their viewers. He goes on to conclude that the only way to amend these shortcomings is by restoring the rime devoted to weather and local news. However, the author has made a number of assumtions to support his claim.

While the author talks about the increase in time of the national news and the consequent decrease in time for local and weather news, he doesn't specify the exact minutes or seconds that have been cut off. The time reduced could as well be just a few seconds, which might not even be noticed by the viewers. Such neglible change in time is not bound to make any difference to the viewers.

According to the author, a number of complaints were received during that period were regarding the local and weather news. Once again the author fails to specify or provide numerical data for his claims. While the complaints could have been numerically huge, the author does not consider the possibility that it could be negligible when compared to the entire viewership. Actual data and statistics showing the complaints as a percentage of the entire number of viewers would have strengthened his argument. Also, the author is vague about the nature of complaints received. There are chances that the complaints could have been about the actual quality going in to the show rather than the running time. The author has entirely skipped this line of reasoning.

One other baseless assumption is the local businesses withdrawing their advertisement deals. The author has skipped the various other possibilities that could have caused this to happen. The local businesses might have struck a better deal with other news channels, or might be going through a financial crisis that investing in a late night program might not have seemed necessary. To jump to a conclusion about the dip in advertising without considering other reasons, and rather basing claims on vague evidence is unconvincing and dubious.

The author's line of thought is not cogent and has failed to prove his point through logival means. He is talking on the basis of his assumptions and hasn't provided enough evidence to support his views. Data and statistics showing the actual dip in viewership or the fall in revenue would have been better ways to base his claim. In short the author has failed to substantiate the key points and supply relevant evidence to prove his claim.