"All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficient. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary."

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with these statements and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Rome was not built in a day. The path to success of anything or anyone is not an easy journey. It's winding and often hindered by obstacles. To tackle these problems one has to look at the issue in hand from various perspectives. The key to success is the willingness to be open to suggestions and advice. The success of a company is determined similarly. The leaders of the company need to be open to suggestions from all sides. Sometimes the problems faced are inherent, and people related to the company, namely the employees are sufficient to find a solution. However there are times when expert help is required. That is when the company seeks external consultants. While one can say that the employees are professionals who can guarantee effectual change, we cannot conclude that their help is sufficient. External help is required as well.

Consultants give the choice of looking at the problem from a different perspective. Not always can the people related to the problem look from all angles. To improve efficiency of a company, the flaws and setbacks have to be looked at from the point of view of a third person. This is where external consultants come handy. Also, these consultants are experts in their field. They tackle corporate issues and devise solutions for a living. They have immense past experiences and could have proven to be effectual in their previous endeavours with other companies. A particular issue which might seem uncommon to the heads and employees of a complany could be a normal issue to the consultants; they would have faced the exact same issue with other companies. In such cases they can provide relief quickly and effectively.

External consultants also provide exposure to a company. Seeking external help gives them a brief picture of the general global situation. They can also at times provide external contacts which can be prove to be useful at later times. Such contacts and exposure can be obtained only by seeking help from outside. While these consultants can help with a great deal of issues and help improve the efficiency of a company, they might not the internal functioning and the processes involved. They cannot provide solutions for what they don't experience. This is where the help from employees comes handy.

Employees look at issues from a different and yet important perspective. They are a part of the company and they can understand how the company works. Employees can provide suggestions about where the company is lacking and how it has to come forward and help the employees themselves to improve efficiency. Approaching employees for suggestions gives the company a picture of where they are lacking internally. It tells them about the amendments they have to make or the aid which they have to provide to help them. Also approaching employees at times of crisis gives them a sens of importance and dignity. It makes the employees feel special and strengthens the bond between the company and employees.

Whille the employees are required at times, they cannot prove useful to tackle all kinds of issues. An employee can help improve the technical aspects or production processes. But to deal with financial or administrative crisis the company obviously requires external help from consultants. For the success of any entity, it should be open to suggestions and help from all directions. Restricting itself to the aid of a particular group would not prove fruitful. Suggestions from employees are necessary, and so is the aid from external consultants. However a company should ensure to balance both to deliver success.