The first step to self-knowledge is rejection of the familiar.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Knowledge in today's world is important for survival. In this technology filled world that we live in, knowledge drives the scientific side of it, and consequentially the practical world. Serving as the basis for every discover and innovation, knowledge and it's everlasting growth is imminent. Not all scholars learn from the greatest institutes of the world. Not all were trained by the most intelligent humans to walk this planet. A number of eminent scientists, artists, innovators and revolutionaries gained the knowledge required to change the world, without much help from others. They acquired the expertise all by themselves. By learning from their surroundings, from nature and the happenings around them. In that process they were willing to consider new possibilities, and were open to new theories. The knowledge they had acquired from books and people wasn't dogmatic. They believed there was always room for correction. Self-knowledge can be attained only when we let go of what we already know. Self-knowledge can be imbibed only when we make room by rejecting what we know already.

For thousands of years, the common people as well as the renowned scholars believed the earth was flat. It was established the earth was a flat piece of ground because they were not able to come up with better explanations for the flat ground that was visible to naked eyes. For many years people had accepted that as a fact and refused to challenge it. It wasn't until long before Copernicus challenged this fact. He came up with the possibility that earth could be a spherical object. Copernicus let go of the established fact. and deployed a better thought process. He let go of familiar facts and opened his mind to new possibilities. Sometimes for the brain to work to it's full potential, we have to discard known facts and make room for new theories and possibilities.

Another example is the dual charecteristics of light. Light was believed to be of partilcle nature. Light was established as a collection of energy particles called photons. But soon, light was challenged to be of wave nature, given how it displayed wave charecteristics under certain experimental conditions. However, the scientists soon decided that there could be new possibilities. They started thinking outside the box, seeking for answers which needn't necessarily abide by known existing facts. Soon they were able to come to a better conclusion about light. On letting go of the known facts and being considerate to other theories, they discovered that light showed dual charecteristics of both particle and wave nature.

Learning is a thought process which gets us thinking, and consequentially to new ideas and conclusions. However while the brain is still accustomed to a particular dogma or a hard and fast rule, it cannot work to its full potential. While previously established facts are necessary and gives us an idea about the existing situation, to come up with new discoveries and answers, it is highly important that we keep our minds open and considerate to new possibilities. Only when we make room by letting go of what we know, only when we mentally prepare ourselves to accept something new which could be contradicting to what we already know, we can truly attain self-knowledge.