The following argument was made in a newspaper editorial:

“The autonomy of any country is based on the strength of its borders; if the number of illegal immigrants entering a country cannot be checked, both its economy and national identity are endangered. Because illegal immigrants pose such threats, every effort must be made to return them to their country of origin.”

Although the argument appears compelling at first, upon a more careful perusal, a few underlying questions are discovered which tend to threaten its validity.

Firstly, the autonomy of a country doesn't only depend on how well its borders are protected. A strong government, which is able to perform its duties without being influenced by foreign forces, is the most essential requirement for the autonomy of the country. If the government makes its decisions based on the wishes of other powerful countries, then the country can't be autonomous even with a well-protected border.

Moreover, the argument assumes that an increased number of illegal immigrants in a country is sure to harm the economy. This isn't necessarily true. In fact, the illegal immigrants living in the country may even help the growth of the economy, in the process of earning their livelihoods and forcing them to leave may have an adverse effect.

In addition to that, the argument states that illegal immigrants pose threats to the country. But that may not be the case all the time. There can be a lot of illegal immigrants out there, who fled their country simply to avoid the ongoing chaos back home and ensure a better future for their next generations. Making them return to their countries can be an inhumane idea.

To recapitulate, the argument fails to provide sufficient information to answer all the hidden questions. In order to properly asses he validity of the argument, further information is required.