The first step to self-knowledge is rejection of the familiar.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Every human being is different. The human race has evolved so much over the years because of this disparity between humans. But following only what is conventional is a hindrance to that evolution. So, I agree with the claim that the first step to knowledge is rejection of one's familiar surroundings.

The life of a normal person is hugely influenced by his surroundings from the very beginning. In a rural village of Bangladesh, a boy born into a typical family grows up learning how to work in the fields and grow crops. His family doesn't encourage him to study and become perhaps an engineer or doctor. Similarly, in a typical village family, the parents want to marry off their daughters as soon as possible, without even giving them a proper opportunity to grow the capacity to decide what they want to do in their lives. For a person living in such a situation, it is really hard to look within himself and try to understand what he wants to be as a a human being.

Surprisingly, the situation isn't much different in big cities either. Here, people are so busy running after money that they forget to realize what they desire. Children aren't asked to follow their dreams, rather they are told to do what will benefit them financially. For example, a child who shows excellent skills as a footballer, is discouraged to spend his time playing football. Instead he is advised to use his time to study and get good grades. Thus the surroundings literally smothers the dreams of a young boy who could've become a world-famous footballer someday.

However, one can't abandon his surroundings totally. For,it is the most commonplace things that play an important part in attaining satisfaction. It would be selfish to think only about oneself. Everyone has certain duties towards his family and society. In search of finding the true meaning of life, one must not forget that.

In short, Human beings must not be fettered by their environment. They should strive to find the true meaning of life everyday.