A pet food company recalled 4 million pounds of pet food in response to complaints that pets that had consumed the food experienced vomiting, lethargy, and other signs of illness. After the recall, the pet food company tested samples from the recalled food and determined that all chemicals found in the food were chemicals that are approved for use in pet food. Thus, the recalled food was not responsible for these symptoms, and the company should not devote further resources to the investigation.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

While it is possible that the pet food was solely responsible for causing illness to the pets, it is also probable that there were other reasons for their illness. For example, if the sick pets drank contaminated water, this could also have caused their ailments. Again, the number of complaints the pet company received is also important. If the number is quite large in comparison to the amount of food sold, then it is only logical to assume that the food was somewhat responsible. But if the number is small, then it maybe safe to say that the complaints were apocryphal.

The argument doesn't provide any information on the sample size used by the pet food company to determine the chemicals used in the food. But the sample size is essential to fully understand the effects the food had on the pets' health. If the sample size was small, it is possible that the chosen samples did have the approved chemicals, but most of the 4 million pounds of food recalled by the company, actually didn't. Moreover, there is no information on whether the tests were carried out in the proper manner by an impartial party. In case they were not, the results can be dubious.

There is a chance that the chemicals used were not of the proper quality. Using low-quality chemicals could have led to the problems the pets suffered.

Lastly, in the event that high-quality, approved chemicals were indeed used in the food and yet it caused detrimental effects to the health of the pets, then there should be proper investigation on these chemicals that are presumed safe. Perhaps it will lead to some important discovery about them so that we can accurately determine if they are really safe.