Company management should conduct routine monitoring of all employee e-mail correspondence. Such monitoring will reduce the waste of resources such as time and system capacity, as well as protect the company from lawsuits.

Now-a-days, e-mails are widely used to communicate with one another. One of the easiest ways of tracking someone's activities is to look at his e-mails. So, I agree with the claim that company management should monitor all employee e-mail correspondence.

Going through the e-mails sent and received by the employees will give the company management a good idea about the actions of their employees. It will create a sense of accountability in them which, in turn, will improve their competence. For example, if an employee of certain architecture firm is given the task to send a bill to a customer over e-mail for providing him the design of his building and the employee fails to do that, his mistake will be detected in the routine monitoring of his e-mails. Then proper actions can be taken as to why this mistake happened and how such a situation can be avoided in the future.

In addition that, in the case of an employee breaking company rules, checking his e-mails can help to identify his wrongdoings. For instance, if an employee of an automobile company takes bribe from a supplier to accept a faulty batch of raw materials and the company hierarchy doesn't know about this, it can create a big legal problem for them in future. However, if the employee is communicating with that person through e-mail, this crime will be found in their e-mails and the perpetrator can be punished before the whole company is wrongfully convicted for his individual crime.

Nevertheless, there can be a few negative effects of combing through all employee e-mail correspondence as well. Firstly, too much scrutiny can scare the employees and this can adversely impact their performance. Moreover, going through someone's personal e-mails can cause a breach of his privacy.

To summarize, monitoring e-mails of the employees can prove to be an efficient of ensuring high performance as long as the management is careful about nor breaching the privacy of the employees.