The following is an excerpt from a letter sent by the principal of Greenwood School to the parents of all incoming kindergarteners. "We have decided to institute a policy of all-day kindergarten, instead of half-day kindergarten, for all students at Greenwood School. All-day kindergarten will help all our students achieve at their highest levels. The classes will be 'tracked'; so that average students are together, but high-achieving and low-achieving students will be put together in classes. In this way, the high-achieving students will be able to help pull the low-achieving students up to their level, so that no student falls behind. The all-day kindergarten classes will cover the same material previously covered in the half-day kindergarten classes, but will go at a slower speed to accommodate learning differences. In addition, the students will receive extra instruction in music, art, and physical education. One of the greatest benefits of the plan, however, is that students will be in a structured environment for longer hours, reducing the numbers of hours that otherwise would be wasted at home or in day care."

From the letter sent by the principal to the parents of the potential kindergarten students, it is concluded that by doubling the time spent in the school shall help the students to reach greater feats. The premises that bolsters this conclusion, is that by making the students to stay in the school for longer periods, the school people could track the progress of the students and make changes, like the coalition of high and achievers together might lead to the high achievers in helping their low achieving peers in studies. Another statement that supports the assertion is that, teaching the students at a slower pace shall help in bridging the learning differences, and that by spending time school and not at home, they shall use their time by doing something useful. However, such a recommendation can be evaluated if the following two questions are answered.

Won't amalgamation of high and low achieve students seperate them from their friends, whom might belong average learning group? What is the guarantee that the high achievers shall help their low achieving classmates in studies, when we are not sure whether they shall mingle together or not? Students always feel comfortable when they are with their friends. For instance, if a low achieving student who has friends in the average learning group is separated from them, he would miss his friends and eventually fail in his exams. It likely that he might feel inferior when he is put among a group of erudite kids. Such an uneasy situation will not help him it gaining marks. If either of the situation is true, then its highly unlike that the student shall progress in his studies.

Isn't childhood about making good memories? Isn't it likely that children of such young age lose their opportunity to make friends in their neighbourhood if they are kept in their schools all day? The students should have some latitude and keeping them in schools all day might cut their chances in socializing. For example, it is possible that a kid who stays all day at the school to get tired and spend his evening at home taking rest. It is only during their childhood will learn more about making relationship with people. If the above is does not have warranted answer, then the conclusion us flawed.

Thus, if the above questions are answered by giving solid supporting evidence, probably a better evaluation could be made about the viability of the argument. It is only through some good research, we shall gain answers for the above unstated assumptions.