A recent study indicates that children living in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal have lower levels of tooth decay than children living in suburban areas in the United States, despite the fact that people in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal receive little to no professional dental care, while people in suburban areas in the United States see a dentist an average of 1.25 times per year. Thus, regular dental care is not helpful in preventing tooth decay.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The argument claims that, regular dental care is not helpful in preventing tooth decay. In order to support this they have given evidence that the children in nepal have lower levels of tooth decay though they receive little to no dental care. The argument is based on a lot of unstated assumptions which need to be checked in order to evaluate the logic of the argument.

Firstly, is the kind of food children eat in both countries similar? For example, it is possible that children in nepal eat healthy food and food that does not cause tooth decay much. Whereas, children in the united states might have a very unhealthy diet and that might be the cause for their relatively higher levels of tooth decay. The kind of food we eat has an effect of the levels of tooth decay. The comparison could be made only when the kind of food children in both countries eat are same. Or else the argument is not valid and it is faulty.

Secondly, is the survey representative? Was children of different age groups surveyed? For instance, it is possible that the children who were surveyed in nepal had lower levels of tooth decay and children who had high levels of tooth decay were not surveyed. And vice-versa, it is possible that the children surveyed in united states had high levels of tooth decay and the others who had low levels were not surveyed. If this is true, then the argument is faulty.

In addition to that, it is possible that in fact children in nepal did get professional health care. Maybe there were not any dental clinics setup in the mountain regions, but regular dental camps were setup often. Maybe the people who surveyed misinterpreted the lack of dental clinics to that fact that do not get any professional dental care. Maybe they did not take into account the dental camps that are usually setup in rural regions. If this is true, then the argument is not sound.

Thus the above stated assumptions have to be answered in order to evaluate the effectiveness of the argument. Until then, the claim that is stated in the argument is considered false.