The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what question would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the prompt, it is claimed that, the reason for less people watching super screen produced movies is not because tehy are of bad quality, but there is not enough awareness about their movies. The evidence given for this, is that, there were many positive reviews about last years movies, though not many watched them. There are lot of unstated assumptions, which the argument depends on. Only by assessing them, can we evaluate the recommendation of increasing the budget for advertisement.

Firstly, is the report from the marketing department contains information about the number people who watched all around the globe or with in the local area? It is possible that they collected the viwership record from only the local theatres, and not from the theatres all aroung the globe. Maybe the local theatres did not produced enough shows or cancelled bookings for a few shows because of some financial issues. If that is true, then the report is not representative enough. In order to get answers for this, a copy of the report is necessary, so that it is possible to check the location of the theatres where the information was collected.

Secondly, are the positive reviews from people who have film knowledge or people who have seen a lot of movies ? It is possible that people who gave positive reviews are ones, who have always seen bad movies which are locally produced. Maybe the quality of the film is acceptable to them, but not to a wider audience. Maybe the movie was not good enough to compete with other great movies produced last year. In order to confirm the true quality of the film, it is required that they getsuggestions from film critics. If the above stated scenarios are true, then the quality of the film cannot be accepted as good.

Will increasing the budget on advertisements gain pubilicity for the movie? Maybe the previous year movies did have enough publicity, but still did not wish watch the movie, maybe because, the producer did not have a good track record of producing good movies. Maybe the people had a pre conceived notion that, Super screen shall only make movies for profit, and for entertaining the people. Maybe the movies they produced are not liked by the majority of the movie watchers. It is possible that their movies are based stories which are not pragmatic enough. If this is the case, then the producers should produce movies which the audience shall like, and not make movies for profit. In this case, it is not recommended to increased the budget on advertisements.

Thus the above questions are to be answered to better evaluate the argument and the recommendation provided.