The following is a letter to the editor of an environmental magazine.

"In 1975 a wildlife census found that there were seven species of amphibians in Xanadu National Park, with abundant numbers of each species. However, in 2002 only four species of amphibians were observed in the park, and the numbers of each species were drastically reduced. There has been a substantial decline in the numbers of amphibians worldwide, and global pollution of water and air is clearly implicated. The decline of amphibians in Xanadu National Park, however, almost certainly has a different cause: in 1975, trout — which are known to eat amphibian eggs — were introduced into the park."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The writer of the argument recommend that the principal cause of decreasing the number of amphibians in Xanadu park is the role of a specific kind of fish which usually consumes the amphibians broods as a suitable nourishment; however, this conclusion cannot be accepted as it is in that it rests on a number of assumptions which can be challenged in one way or another.

The first problem with the conclusion is that, the writer assumes that major cause of changing in the population of the indigenous amphibians in the park is due to the specific fishes, while there is no vivid evidence prove that this phenomenon has been occurred by the negative effect of fishes. For example, maybe the other sort of animals attacked the local species of the amphibians. Or maybe the number of amphibian specious has undergone a substantial decrease over these years just because of the competition existing between identical sort of animals settling in a same region. The most consequential cause of this natural event can be related to lack of food resources in the habitats, which only let the stronger specious surviving in the area, and as a resultant the others would not have the opportunity of survive, and breading.

The other problem with the mentioned argument is that the writer assumes that the situation remain the same during the years; however, in most cases this is not true. That would be much better to consider natural happenings and disasters happened in the park, as they might had have changed some of the indispensible features of the habitats. Not only these kind of remarkeble changes may have many detrimental impacts on the habitants, but also they might diminish the food storage in the area.

The third problem concerning this argument is that the writer assumes that the year 2002 is akin to 1975 in all respects which is not logical, since as it is mentioned the pollution of the air and water resources was one of the most vital reasons for diminishing the number of amphibians in the other places. Maybe an increasing amount of contamination made by humans and huge factories in near suburban areas influenced the Xanadu residences ,and brought about dangerous maladies .

In the final analysis, the writer conclusion cannot be taken to be correct because, as it was shown in the body paragraphs above, it depends on a number of assumptions each of which questionable